Abhorsen/The Old Kingdom

7 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 14,433 ratings

Sabriel Publisher's Summary

Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

Though her journey begins alone, she soon finds companions: Mogget, whose seemingly harmless feline form hides a powerful and perhaps malevolent spirit; and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage long imprisoned by magic, now free in body but still trapped by painful memories.

With threats on all sides and only each other to trust, the three must travel deep into the Old Kingdom, toward a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death, and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own hidden destiny.

A tale of dark secrets, deep love and dangerous magic, Sabriel introduces Garth Nix as an exceptional new talent.

©1995 Garth Nix (P)2002 Random House, Inc., Listening Library, An Imprint Of The Random House Audio Publishing Group
Show More Show Less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • Sabriel

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,316
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4,399
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4,402

    Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Dark, serious YA fantasy

    • By Ryan on 10-27-12
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
    • Release date: 12-29-02
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 5,316 ratings

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 2

    • Lirael

    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 44 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,246
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2,660
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,662

    Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Abandoned by her mother, ignorant of her father's identity, Lirael resembles no one else in her large extended family living in the Clayr's glacier. She doesn't even have the Sight, the ability to See into the present and possibly futures, that is the very birthright of the Clayr.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Charter Knows, a Library Can Be a Dangerous Place

    • By Jefferson on 04-18-13
    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 44 mins
    • Release date: 08-07-06
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 3,246 ratings

    Regular price: $31.93

  • Book 3

    • Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3,109
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2,562
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 2,556

    Before she went to join Sam and Mogget downstairs, Lirael paused for a moment to look at herself in the tall silver mirror that hung on the wall of her room. The image that faced her bore little resemblance to the Second Assistant Librarian of the Clayr. She saw a warlike and grim young woman, dark hair bound back with a silver cord rather than hanging free to disguise her face. She no longer wore her librarian's waistcoat, and she had a long Nehima at her side rather than a library-issue dagger.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • splendid

    • By DangerMouse on 07-05-08

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 3.5

    The Creature in the Case audiobook cover art
    Not available on audible.com
  • Book 4

    • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
    • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,512
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,385
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,391

    Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great prequel to Abhorsen trilogy

    • By ciorstan on 10-17-14

    Regular price: $35.00

  • Book 5

    • Goldenhand

    • The Old Kingdom, Book 5
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
    • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,096
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1,010
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,011

    Lirael lost one of her hands in the binding of Orannis, but now she has a new hand, one of gilded steel and Charter Magic. On a dangerous journey, Lirael returns to her childhood home, the Clayr's Glacier, where she was once a Second Assistant Librarian. There a young woman from the distant North brings her a message from her long-dead mother, Arielle. It is a warning about the Witch with No Face. But who is the Witch, and what is she planning?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • I'm not sure what happened here

    • By Mandi G. on 11-12-16
    • The Old Kingdom, Book 5
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
    • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
    • Release date: 10-11-16
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 1,096 ratings

    Regular price: $38.50

    • To Hold the Bridge

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Nicola Barber, Raphael Corkhill, Roger Wayne, and others
    • Length: 13 hrs and 24 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 154
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 145
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 145

    Garth Nix is renowned for his legendary fantasy works, but To Hold the Bridge showcases his versatility, as the collection offers 19 short stories from every genre of literature, including science fiction, paranormal, realistic fiction, mystery, and adventure. Whether writing about vampires, detectives, ancient spirits, or odd jobs, Garth Nix's ability to pull his readers into new worlds is extraordinary.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Decent

    • By Sara on 09-11-18

    Regular price: $33.08