Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A gripping pause-resister for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Perfect Nanny, Michelle Sacks's You Were Made for This provocatively explores the darkest sides of marriage, motherhood, and friendship. 

Doting wife, devoted husband, cherished child. Merry, Sam, and Conor are the perfect family in the perfect place. Merry adores the domestic life: baking, gardening, caring for her infant son. Sam, formerly an academic, is pursuing a new career as a filmmaker. Sometimes they can hardly believe how lucky they are. What perfect new lives they've built.  

When Merry's childhood friend Frank visits their Swedish paradise, she immediately becomes part of the family. She bonds with Conor. And with Sam. She befriends the neighbors, and even finds herself embracing the domesticity she's always seemed to scorn.  

All their lives, Frank and Merry have been more like sisters than best friends. And that's why Frank soon sees the things others might miss. Treacherous things, which are almost impossible to believe when looking at this perfect family. But Frank, of all people, knows that the truth is rarely what you want the world to see.

©2018 Michelle Sacks (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Insightful and skillfully constructed... this will keep readers rapt to the final page." (Booklist)

"[Sacks's] unblinking look at beautiful people with ugly secrets has the voyeuristic fascination of a Bergman film." (Publishers Weekly)

"Beguiling and frightening.... Hard to read but also bewitchingly hard to put down-a fitting contradiction in a novel that explores the corruption at the heart of beauty." (Kirkus Reviews)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

QUESTIONS.

This story left me with more questions than answers. certain facts were not clarified. I would have liked a few things answered.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well written bit super dark

Trigger for any one who has issues with child harm. And horrible people. It’s tough to get through emotionally but it is intriguing with beyond messed up characters.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Miserable Story about Miserable People

This was a gut-wrenching, miserable story about very miserable people. Absolutely nothing about this story was worth reading. It was very well written, however I have to ask, "Why?". Was it a story of redemtion? No. Was it meant as an explanation of filicide? No. That Sweden (metaphor) is not the idealic life/place it appears on it's face? No.
Three sociopaths and a cop. That's it. Oh, and a pathetic, flawed neighbor and his sad wife.
I almost quit reading this book about every 30 minutes, but I kept waiting for something to happen, It never did, Just 8 hrs and 29mins of misery. Book left me depressed and angry. For no reason. If even one of the charactors was kind and worthy, it would have made for a much better story and review.
I'll be asking for a refund.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dark & weird

I don’t think I like this book… It was strange and sad and dark. Not my cup of tea.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Creepy but could not stop reading.

It will draw you in. Yes depressing at times. It. is well written. You will want to finish it. Creepy but good.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

whoa and wow

so sick and twisted.. and such an amazing performance. highly recommend it!! you can't imagine the cruelty but you can't get enough of it either.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent writing!

I was impressed with Michelle Sacks writing style, delving deep into the mind of a women on the edge as well as those in her orbit. It was a bit depressing but none the less enjoyable just the same.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

This was such a different story! I finished it in 2 days, couldn't stop listening. The characters were greatly developed,the story flowed easily. I have nothing but good things to say about the story and the author, will be looking for more of her books! 5 stars through and through. I listen to about 6 audiobooks every month,this is the best one I have heard in a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark and twisted

loved this book! I couldn't put my ear buds down. good twists and went fast.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

All characters in this book are despicable. It is depressing with no one to sympathize with. Wish I had not read it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful