Your audiobook is waiting…

You Were Always Mine

Narrated by: Nina Alvamar
Length: 12 hrs and 59 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The acclaimed author of Little Broken Things returns with another "race-to-the-finish family drama" (People) about a single mother who becomes embroiled in a mystery that threatens to tear apart what's left of her family. 

Jessica Chamberlain, newly separated and living with her two sons in a small Iowa town, can't believe a tragedy in another state could have anything to do with her. But when her phone rings one quiet morning, her world is shattered. As she tries to pick up the pieces and make sense of what went wrong, Jess begins to realize a tragic death is just the beginning. 

Soon, she is caught in a web of lies and half-truths - and she's horrified to learn everything leads back to her seven-year-old adopted son, Gabriel. Years ago, Gabe's birth mother requested a closed adoption, and Jessica was more than happy to comply. But when her house is broken into and she discovers a clue that suggests her estranged husband was in close contact with Gabe's biological mother, she vows to uncover the truth at any cost.

A harrowing story of tenacious love and heartbreaking betrayal, You Were Always Mine is about the wars we wage to keep the ones we love close, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.

©2018 Nicole Baart (P)2018 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A part of the story

This book was so, so real. I felt like I was a part of the story from the first word to the last. It was so realistic. As an adoptive mom, I felt like I couldn't breathe during certain parts of the book, but I also celebrated during other parts.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mama hearts rejoice

This book. Oh, this book. If you live and breathe, you will like this book. Mamas everywhere, you will empathize and relate on the deepest of levels. Small town dwellers will picture themselves in this picture of life. Families who have experienced adoption, loss of a child or parent or spouse, those touched by the autism spectrum; you will relate. Listen or read and cry those tears and laugh those laughs of knowing what this is all about. Do all of that and walk away remembering to hold your loves a little tighter and stress breathe when you need it and know that you're not losing your mind just yet. Let yourself see what the Chamberlain's are experiencing and you too will benefit in this beautifully told story.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Anderson
  • Karen Anderson
  • 05-15-19

Ok

This book needed a few more explanations and less unnecessary description. it was ok, but not outstanding.