• You Were Always Mine

  • By: Nicole Baart
  • Narrated by: Nina Alvamar
  • Length: 12 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
You Were Always Mine  By  cover art

You Were Always Mine

By: Nicole Baart
Narrated by: Nina Alvamar
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The acclaimed author of Little Broken Things returns with another "race-to-the-finish family drama" (People) about a single mother who becomes embroiled in a mystery that threatens to tear apart what's left of her family. 

Jessica Chamberlain, newly separated and living with her two sons in a small Iowa town, can't believe a tragedy in another state could have anything to do with her. But when her phone rings one quiet morning, her world is shattered. As she tries to pick up the pieces and make sense of what went wrong, Jess begins to realize a tragic death is just the beginning. 

Soon, she is caught in a web of lies and half-truths - and she's horrified to learn everything leads back to her seven-year-old adopted son, Gabriel. Years ago, Gabe's birth mother requested a closed adoption, and Jessica was more than happy to comply. But when her house is broken into and she discovers a clue that suggests her estranged husband was in close contact with Gabe's biological mother, she vows to uncover the truth at any cost.

A harrowing story of tenacious love and heartbreaking betrayal, You Were Always Mine is about the wars we wage to keep the ones we love close, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.

©2018 Nicole Baart (P)2018 Recorded Books

What listeners say about You Were Always Mine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A part of the story

This book was so, so real. I felt like I was a part of the story from the first word to the last. It was so realistic. As an adoptive mom, I felt like I couldn't breathe during certain parts of the book, but I also celebrated during other parts.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mama hearts rejoice

This book. Oh, this book. If you live and breathe, you will like this book. Mamas everywhere, you will empathize and relate on the deepest of levels. Small town dwellers will picture themselves in this picture of life. Families who have experienced adoption, loss of a child or parent or spouse, those touched by the autism spectrum; you will relate. Listen or read and cry those tears and laugh those laughs of knowing what this is all about. Do all of that and walk away remembering to hold your loves a little tighter and stress breathe when you need it and know that you're not losing your mind just yet. Let yourself see what the Chamberlain's are experiencing and you too will benefit in this beautifully told story.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zoe N
  • Zoe N
  • 02-04-22

Worth a listen

Have given this 4 stars because it’s different and had me gripped. It does tend to go off down alleyways, leaving you desperate to uncover more of the mystery, but it’s generally well done. Writing is good. I’m not sure the narrator got it quite right but I’ve suffered far, far worse.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Anderson
  • Karen Anderson
  • 05-15-19

Ok

This book needed a few more explanations and less unnecessary description. it was ok, but not outstanding.