adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some dreams can’t be ignored.

Over a month has passed since Karin Makos has settled on Chamak. Together with her sister and the rest of the crew from the Nemina, she is finally able to do something useful in this war - heal the Lost that the Shadows have taken.

But time is not on their side, and more than the Shadow enemy lurks in the wings. Soon, Karin finds herself fighting for her life in the forests of Nova Earth, plagued by strange, vivid dreams of her past, and racing hard to prevent the catastrophe that threatens to swallow the planet - because if she fails, much, much more will be lost.

Made for fans of Firefly, Stargate, and Battlestar Galactica, this fast-paced novel series contains some strong language, a lot of action, and more than its share of snark. Don't miss the fourth audiobook in the series!

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about World Shift

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspired Series that just keeps getting better!!

This is just a fascinating series, and with each part, the story seems to get more and more intriguing, as Karin and Nomiki get more answers, they also seem to come up with even more questions.
At the end of book 3, Karin and Nomiki along with Mark and Soo-jin had uncovered Sasha’s ability to create extra-dimensional pockets, and having been trapped in one for a while, what was it appeared, Sasha’s main base of operations, they have discovered a wealth of information. As with all things Eurynome though, it has of course opened a bunch of new questions as well.
However, they have discovered Sasha’s ties with Seirlin, as well as a host of medical staff, who are now all in custody and working for Fallon. They have also uncovered several projects that Sasha was working on, including an incredibly large man project name Aries.
At the start of World Shift, the scientists at Fallon are desperately trying to find a way to replicate Karin’s ‘Light’ ability, so that they can duplicate her ability to ‘push’ shadows out of ‘Lost’, and have some hope of reclaiming the billions of people that have been taken, as Karin herself has no hope of doing it, even if she was to work, every second of every day for the rest of her life, she wouldn’t even clear a continent, let alone a planet or the sector.
Karin continues (reluctantly), to help, all the while, helping to clear as many lost as she can.
Karin also comes across a facility of freed people that are like her, ones that had been in Sasha’s facility, they are under intense security, with no access to anything. Karin speaks to one of them, one who is on the ‘Wisdom’ stream, a younger girl named Genevieve, who is desperate for knowledge, and understanding of what is really going on. She wants to know if the Shadow theory (that over 50% of the system has been taken by Shadows), is true, and Karin shows her on her netlink, giving her an understanding of the severity of things, and how messed up Sasha was.
When the Alliance wants to negotiate for some help, saying that they are in desperate trouble, and they need some assistance from Karin, Fallon agrees, sending a large force, and her Guardian Assassin Nomiki with her, along with Marc and Soo-jin. But when Karin is attacked by a disgruntled soldier, Karin suddenly finds that she is somehow in Alliance hands, having been transported from the Fallon ship she was on, to Alliance held Nova Earth in the blink of an eye, and, worse, Marc has been brought with her.
Not knowing how this happened, if Fallon (or Nomiki) know what has happened, or where they are, they find themselves once again, prisoners of the Alliance. However, this time, things are a little different. The Alliance is in desperate need of help, as they have a very strange event that is occurring over their planet.
I don’t want to say anymore and give away spoilers, but the title ‘World Shift’ should actually give you some hints.
This is a really fascinating and intriguing book, it is moving the story on from book 3, and we are finding out more and more of this shadow phenomena, as well as those involved in the Eurynome project, especially Sasha and her ability to create pocket universes, and her son, Takahashi.
As with the other books, we are given more of the puzzle pieces to put into place, giving us a bigger picture, but as we discover what that picture is, we also learn that the picture is a lot bigger than we first thought. The ‘Universe/World’ building is just incredible in this series, with so many different points, joined to so many others, I would be fascinated to see the plot chart and reference material that the Author has to keep all of this straight in her head. There is so much creative and clever detail, from each of the projects, and their names, and abilities, to this sector of space, having been reached through a world gate, from Earth (old Earth), and now, several factions, the two main being Fallon and the Alliance, who have been at war a few times, but are now in an uneasy alliance, even more so after the Shadow incidents, and over half the galaxies population missing. All of this is portrayed so well, with so much detail and so in-depth, it makes for an intelligent, realistic, and captivating story.
The Authors Character work is just exceptional as well, adding that additional level of brilliance. This is one of those truly remarkable Character Driven Stories, that is told by a single main character, but there are so many secondary main characters, each just as extraordinary, and engaging as the main character, that you just can’t put the book down, you have to keep reading to find out what is going to happen to Karin, to Marc, Nomiki, or to one of the best characters in the book, Soo-jin, with her whip-like sarcastic tongue, that has you on the floor in stitches, Soo-jin seems to be in the middle of things, but manages to get out of them pretty well to. And her mouth is so funny.
The other great character that has come into the series is Nomiki, Karin’s ‘sister’, a trained killing machine. It wasn’t until book 3 that we really saw the raw power of Nomiki, tearing through enemies like tissue paper, she is the thing of dreams or nightmares, depending on which side you are on.
As each book comes out, the series just keeps getting more extraordinary, the characters are just exceptional, the world-building is stunning, and the story is not only intriguing, keeping you guessing, but it is just beautifully written.
One of the best series of the year, without a doubt, I can’t wait for the next 2 books!!
Andrea Emmes has such a beautiful voice, it is so easy to listen to, it really is exquisite. She has the perfect voice for Karin, she does her so well, and it is a pleasure to listen to her tell Karin’s story. Emmes does a great job with each of the other characters as well, both male and female, even doing the gruff male voices particularly well. She is clear and concise, so she is easy to understand all the time, which is important with a narrator. Emmes also does a wonderful job of creating the characters emotional state, such as sad, angry, fearful, happy, excited, you don’t have to be told that Karin is feeling anxiety in a situation, you can tell it in her voice as she is speaking. You can hear the cocky self-assuredness in Nomiki’s voice, as she is going into Combat, and just the laid-back vibe with Marc, he is a veteran, and does not get worked up easily, as opposed to Cookie, who has an edge of anxiety and fear most of the time, all of this is conveyed so well by Emmes, creating a great story atmosphere. This is an exceptional bit of Narrating, and it is well worth the listen!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My New One Click Author

Having never read or listened to K. Gorman I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed The Euronyme Code Series. Then I became addicted! Listening to the books back-to-back, I can’ wait until the next book in the series. I highly recommend this author and series if you enjoy interesting, fast-paced sci-fi with a heroine lead. Keep them coming K. Gorman.