Regular price: $27.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A deadly game of cat and mouse filled with high-stakes tension, Winterlong is the must-hear new thriller for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with the top-secret government operation Winterlong. They brokered a deal at the time: he'd keep quiet about what they were doing, and in return he'd be left alone. But news that one of Blake's old allies is dead, a man who agreed to the same deal, means only one thing: something has changed and Winterlong is coming for him.

Emma Faraday, newly appointed head of the secret unit, is determined to tie up loose ends. And Blake is a very loose end. He's been evading them for years, but finally they've picked up his trace. Blake may be the best there is at tracking down people who don't want to be found, but Winterlong taught him everything he knows. If there's anyone who can find him - and kill him - it's them.

It's time for Carter Blake to up his game.

©2017 Mason Cross (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

To say this is really good is an understatement!

Any additional comments?

This is the third book in a series although this one can be read as a standalone some brief discussions in this book reference action from the first two.As for this book and the whole series it is top shelf characters, action and narration I just can not recommend this book and series enough. Fans of Ben Coes and Tom Wood will feel right at home.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • John
  • tallevast, FL, United States
  • 03-20-17

Plausible Deniability

Or Deniably Plausible

I keep suffering through these Mason Cross books because of the positive reviews.The character is likable and the story line has promise - But it just doesn't have any real substance. I didn't feel invested in this story at all. It's not like I couldn't wait to get back to this story after having to stop or anything. It's like eating food to survive instead of enjoying it. I bought the Audio Book and consumed it just to keep my brain active while working. I wouldn't say I enjoyed it.

J

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WINTERLING EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT

This book is EXCELLENT!! Just in case you didn't see it my headline.
I really enjoyed the first two books in this series (Hunting Season and The Samaritan). Both of those books hinted at a very secretive past with a shadowy organization. The first two also allude to reasons this organization has decided to allow him to live. Carter Blake is a man with a moral code who does not believe in collateral damage of innocents.
This book surprised me by answering all the questions brought up in the first two books. Winterlong turns out to be the name of the program he was in, it is also the same agency that wants to kill him. The story goes back and forth from past to present as the agency once again is hot on his trail and killing those associated with him. Two others left the agency when he did and they have been murdered even with their insurance.
To complicate things just a little more Carter has an unwilling travel partner. A mange has apprehended who stole some valuable software from a startup company. Now he can't let him go because of his own ethics, he doesn't want him to become collateral damage.
The book comes to an explosive yet satisfying ending with the promise of future books.
Eric Myers gives an excellent performance. His voice really fits the characters.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

23 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 02-10-17

Very outstanding suspense thriller!!

Winterlong is the third outstanding novel in the Carter Blake suspense series by Mason Cross. All three easily earn 5 stars. These novels should probably be recognized as of the espionage genre. Winterlong answers several questions about Carters Blake's past that The Killing Season ans The Samaritan left cloaked in secrecy. In this novel the author uses flashbacks, mostly to Carter Blake in Afghanistan, to answer some of the open questions from earlier in the series. Narration by Eric Meyers is stellar.

I very highly recommend Winterlong, but suggest listening to The Killing Season and The Samaritan first.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful adventure.

A very refreshing book. A wonderful exciting adventure, warm, intense, satisfying in all ways. And I’m picky!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nail Biter

Block out some time for this one. You will have a hard time pausing it. The narrator did a good job, giving just the right inflections. You can't help but like the main character; hope he returns.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allan
  • Benton, AR, USA
  • 05-28-17

Great

No weaknesses. Finishing this up at 4 AM in the morning couldn't put it down.! Can't wait for the next installment.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 05-19-17

¿Calling off the dogs - with the flash drive that provides not fake news

Blake Carter is next for assassination? People who Blake had worked with or helped him in his passed, turn up dead for helping him. Blake now has to terminate those who he once worked with together and set him up. Blake wants to be left alone - or else. The squad is destroyed!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply Outstanding

The first novel in the series got me excited that there just might be another good espionage type series in the making. The second novel was good, maybe not as good as the first, the third is outstanding. Interesting story and twists, likable developed characters, good pacing of action and information. Provides good background information on the protagonist by moving back and forth from present to past - it is well done and well paced. Lots of room for more stories about Carter Blake - which I can't wait for. Eric Meyers does a stellar job performing - not just reading this novel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a little confusing, but draws together eventually

The book is generally well done, but the early parts switch time frame and point of view too often and with too little differentiation for an easy listen. Once it all gets straightened out, though, it's an engaging story with relatable characters, though the McGuffin is a bit of a hoary concept to hang a narrative on these days. It could have been about 15 minutes shorter, too, but all in all it's a book that will get me to listen to another by this author.