Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Winterbay Abbey: A Ghost Story  By  cover art

Winterbay Abbey: A Ghost Story

By: John Bladek, Davonna Juroe
Narrated by: Matt Godfrey
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Fans of Susan Hill's The Woman in Black and Alejandro Amenábar's The Others will be eager to listen to this contemporary ghost story. Written in the tradition of classic English ghost tales, Winterbay Abbey is an unsettling Gothic thriller.

Will Larson has one last chance to save his stagnant career as an architect: design a grand restoration for a long-abandoned abbey. Looming above the breathtaking, windswept coast of Maine, Winterbay Abbey offers a picturesque spot for a charming hotel. But the locals harbor a peculiar distaste for the ruined Gothic convent.

After witnessing a drowning within sight of the abbey, Will wonders why the police seem disinterested in the case. He begins looking deeper into the incident, gradually uncovering chilling secrets behind the old nunnery's walls. Will's wife, Emily, becomes convinced the drowning is a ghostly replay of a forgotten death. But their investigation into the abbey's frightening history results in a tragic end with no escape from Winterbay's dark curse.

Buy Winterbay Abbey today to add some needed chill to your home library.

©2016 John Bladek and Davonna Juroe (P)2018 John Bladek and Davonna Juroe

What listeners say about Winterbay Abbey: A Ghost Story

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gothic ghost story

I like books like this that are atmospheric and where strange, inexplicable things happen. Can you rationalize them away with an easy explanation? Sure, but then we wouldn't be reading a ghost story if there was an easy/rational explanation. Like they say in the X-Files, "I want to believe," and that desire on my part allows me to buy in to the main character's (will's) paranoia and susceptibility to believing things are not as they seem in the cool/creepy Gothic mansion he has been hired to redesign.

Listening to this book made me recall the old TV show I used to watch when I was little, Dark Shadows. It wasn't truly horror, but it was Gothic, house-bound, and has lots of atmosphere based on an old family home. I love stories like this.

Matt Godfrey always kills the narration because he's such a pro. He does women's voices with ease, and transitions between narration and dialog seamlessly.

If you like a good, cozy ghost story, and you're willing to suspend disbelief and not pick apart every detail, you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars