1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Wildcat: A Novel of the West  By  cover art

Wildcat: A Novel of the West

By: Stephen L. Brooks
Narrated by: Jennifer March
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.35

Buy for $17.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She fought rustlers, land thieves, murders, and her own heart!

Her pa taught Allison Katherine “Kat” Crandall to ride, rope, and shoot as good as any man. That's why they called her "Wildcat"! Then her pa died in what folks called an “accident”, and when she returned from his funeral, half her ranch hands up and left. Kat knew that meant her father's death was no accident but cold-blooded murder, even if she couldn't prove it - yet! 

Soon her troubles really started: Rustling, stampedes, hijackings, her remaining hands attacked. If she didn't do something fast, Kat would lose everything her father had worked for.

Kit was ready to strap on her gun and shoot it out with whatever hombres were behind these doin's. But first she had to know who was behind it all, and why? 

Right then a mysterious drifter who called himself "Laredo" and his two saddle pals, Banty and Bear, drifted into town. Laredo, big and handsome, with an easygoing sense of humor, said he wanted to help Kat out. Kat liked him right from the start. But from the things he said, she realized there was something mysterious about Laredo, something he was keeping from her. Something secret in his past.

Kat's heart said she could trust him, but her head said she didn't dare.

Then the attempts to drive her off the range with guns and sabotage intensified. Kat found herself riding into one of the great gun battles of the West, but was the man riding at her side true or a traitor?  

Wildcat wouldn't know until the last bullet had been fired.

Wildcat is a thrilling romance of the frontier, brimming with action in the tradition of authors like Zane Grey, Max Brand, and Louis L'Amour and the classic Saturday-afternoon Western B-movies.

©2019 Stephen L. Brooks (P)2019 Stephen L. Brooks

What listeners say about Wildcat: A Novel of the West

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wildcat

An entertaining book, reminiscent of books by Zane Grey, Louis L'Amour, etal. Katherine "Kat" Crandall was raised by her father after her mother's death at childbirth. Since Tom Crandall wanted a son, he raised Kat as if she were a boy.

When Tom dies suddenly in a mysterious accident, Kat is left on her own to run the ranch. However, most of her ranch hands refuse to work for a woman and she is left searching for help. A trio of "pards" wanders in and she reluctantly hires them (with some reservations).

This book is wonderful entertainment for those who love watching or reading the old westerns. It has it all: characters with great names (Dakota, Slim, Banty, Bear, Laredo), cattle rustlers, shoot outs, fisticuffs, and a bit of mystery. It also has a very strong and independent female character, which is unusual in this genre. No weak, crying heroine in this lady for sure! Of course, the story ends with a happy ending, but not after plenty of villainous attacks by the bad guys and a few dead bodies.

There is violence, but very little descriptions of gore. The language is suitable for readers of any age (I think there was one curse word in the whole book) and I would recommend this book as a great one for a family listen.

The narrator, Jennifer March, does a great job. Her different voices were great and (mostly) believable, even those of the male characters. She had just the right inflections for the typical Old West jargon/accents. Her pacing was perfect and when the action started, her voice was just perfect.

I was given a chance to listen to this audiobook by the publisher and chose to review it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

very good

Loved it !! this story. the narrator is so fantastic it's like your really there!! good overall

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A good old fashioned Western

This was a good old fashioned western with a twist. Instead of a cowboy running things it is run by a woman who is as tough as any cowboy!
Somewhat predictable but very enjoyable.
Jennifer March did a great job with the narration.

This was a review copy and this is my honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RJ
  • 02-10-22

No petticoats here!

Allison Katherine “Kat” Crandall’s Pa raised the young woman to fight, ride, and shoot like any cowboy. Pa wanted a boy but he got her. That’s how they come to call her “Wildcat”. Her Pa died in unusual circumstances, Kat figuring he was murdered but couldn’t prove it. After her Pa’s funeral, most of the ranch hands resigned save for three. The herd was more than three cowhands could handle and no one was applying for the posted jobs. It didn’t take long for cattle to start disappearing. Shortly after the trouble started, three drifters came through looking for work. Kat didn’t like it and was very suspicious. Desperate for help, Kat gave in and hired all three; Loredo, Banty, and Bear. Kat remained suspicious of Laredo, keeping her eye on him. Continuing, the tale gives a rousing account of Kat and her Bar-C hands against rustlers and ambushers. There was a mystery who-done-it element within the story that added much and kept my curiosity piqued until the very end. The question that pops up is, who is this Laredo character, and how did he and his pards happen to show up? It’s a curiously fun read, with Laredo adding additional mystery and humor to the tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My kind of Book.

I enjoy a good old Western. This was just that. The Narration was very good too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid Western Tale

Kat was raised as a man by her single father. Her mom died in childbirth. When her dad dies she takes over the running of the ranch. She has to prove to men that she was more than capable of being a tough, but fair boss. She has problems from the get go with restless causing her to almost lose the ranch. Read in entirety to find out the solving of the mystery.

Jennifer March voiced this story well. There was an even flow of the storyline which kept me wanting to listen to the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun listen

It took me a bit to get into the story, but by an hour in, I was hooked. At that point, it reminded me of the old westerns I used to read, and of the old western tv shows that I grew up watching with my dad. It had just the right amount of intrigue and action, with interesting, relatable, fun characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wildcat

This is a good book. I didn't like kat for a while but later started liking her. This book is very entertaining . There is a mystery. I highly recommend this book. If people knew how good this book is there would be thousands of reviews. Jennifer March did a great job narrating this book. She is new to me . I will look for more books she has done. I highly recommend this book. If my review is any help will you please click the helpful link below. Thank you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Old Fashioned Western

A delightful retro Western read/listen with gun shooting, horse riding, bad guys in black hats and good guys in white hats. Throw a strong female protagonist, a betrayal of trust, and a little love story and you have the complete mix for an enjoyable book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wildcat: A Novel of the West review

An interesting western with a likable main character and a good narrator made listening to this worthwhile.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Marsden
  • John Marsden
  • 06-19-22

Wild Kat!

This is a most entertaining listen, Kat's father wanted a son but got a daughter whom he raies like a boy. When he died the ranch was taken over by Kat and she had to be strong to face all teh chauvanism and bad feelings about a woman running a cattle ranch. Well defined characters and well written text make this a great book to listen to and Jennifer March's narration makes it even better. If you enjoy a good old fashioned western this is a book for you.
I was kindly given a copy of the book by the publisher and leave this voluntary review. *****