Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Wildcat: A Novel of the West  By  cover art

Wildcat: A Novel of the West

By: Stephen L. Brooks
Narrated by: Jennifer March
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

She fought rustlers, land thieves, murders, and her own heart!

Her pa taught Allison Katherine “Kat” Crandall to ride, rope, and shoot as good as any man. That's why they called her "Wildcat"! Then her pa died in what folks called an “accident”, and when she returned from his funeral, half her ranch hands up and left. Kat knew that meant her father's death was no accident but cold-blooded murder, even if she couldn't prove it - yet!

Soon her troubles really started: Rustling, stampedes, hijackings, her remaining hands attacked. If she didn't do something fast, Kat would lose everything her father had worked for.

Kit was ready to strap on her gun and shoot it out with whatever hombres were behind these doin's. But first she had to know who was behind it all, and why?

Right then a mysterious drifter who called himself "Laredo" and his two saddle pals, Banty and Bear, drifted into town. Laredo, big and handsome, with an easygoing sense of humor, said he wanted to help Kat out. Kat liked him right from the start. But from the things he said, she realized there was something mysterious about Laredo, something he was keeping from her. Something secret in his past.

Kat's heart said she could trust him, but her head said she didn't dare.

Then the attempts to drive her off the range with guns and sabotage intensified. Kat found herself riding into one of the great gun battles of the West, but was the man riding at her side true or a traitor?

Wildcat wouldn't know until the last bullet had been fired.

Wildcat is a thrilling romance of the frontier, brimming with action in the tradition of authors like Zane Grey, Max Brand, and Louis L'Amour and the classic Saturday-afternoon Western B-movies.

©2019 Stephen L. Brooks (P)2019 Stephen L. Brooks

What listeners say about Wildcat: A Novel of the West

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Fun listen

It took me a bit to get into the story, but by an hour in, I was hooked. At that point, it reminded me of the old westerns I used to read, and of the old western tv shows that I grew up watching with my dad. It had just the right amount of intrigue and action, with interesting, relatable, fun characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

A Real Western!

I really enjoyed this western and anyone can listen to it. It checked all the boxes. Jennifer March did a smashing job of narrating it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

very good

Loved it !! this story. the narrator is so fantastic it's like your really there!! good overall

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Wildcat: A Novel of the West review

An interesting western with a likable main character and a good narrator made listening to this worthwhile.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Old Fashioned Western

A delightful retro Western read/listen with gun shooting, horse riding, bad guys in black hats and good guys in white hats. Throw a strong female protagonist, a betrayal of trust, and a little love story and you have the complete mix for an enjoyable book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Interesting characters in a good story.

While far from feeling like an authentic western this was a quite enjoyable read, I enjoyed the characters and the story. The narration was very good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Solid Western Tale

Kat was raised as a man by her single father. Her mom died in childbirth. When her dad dies she takes over the running of the ranch. She has to prove to men that she was more than capable of being a tough, but fair boss. She has problems from the get go with restless causing her to almost lose the ranch. Read in entirety to find out the solving of the mystery.

Jennifer March voiced this story well. There was an even flow of the storyline which kept me wanting to listen to the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Li