Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A proper mind-blowing page-turner." (Elizabeth Haynes, author)

Eva has made a catastrophic mistake.

Her career is in tatters. By day, she's tormented by tremors, nosebleeds, and blackouts. By night, her violent dreams leave her shaken.

They should. They hold a devastating secret. 

The truth is more terrifying than her nightmares. Confronting it demands an unthinkable choice.

Eva would kill for a baby.

Now, she may have to.

She has six seconds.

Pick one: Your husband? Or your child?

The gripping debut psychological thriller of 2020 with a jaw-dropping twist. For fans of Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep, and Behind Her Eyes.

Narrated by the star of stage and screen: Emilia Fox.

©2020 Little Robin Press (P)2020 Little Robin Press

What listeners say about When He's Not Here

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Stupid.

I felt Very stupid while listening to this “novel” and have deep regret for having listened for hours, thinking that it might get better. It did not.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DON’T READ REVIEWS - SOMEONE GAVE THE TWIST AWAY!

Someone has given this a five star review titled: “Wow. Didn’t see that coming.” And then told everyone what’s coming in the very next line. Well, nice that you didn’t see it coming but then spoil it for everyone else. I don’t generally leave ratings and reviews but had to come on here and warn future buyers. So if you like a good twist, DON'T READ ANY REVIEWS!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • kb
  • 11-23-20

Could not finish

I stopped listening with about 4 hours remaining. I’m not sure where the story is going, nor do I care. American accent is HORRIBLE.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the download!

I consume books! Love them! This was a good one. It keeps you guessing. I hope theres a sequel.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Complicated

This book was hard to follow at times and way too long. I really liked it at times and at other times I didn’t think I could stand another second.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

What a story ! Kept me interested all the way through. I never guessed what was ahead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

intriguing though somewhat predictable

the reader was, in general, excellent. I only gave her 4 stars because of the sketchy American accent. And the southern drawl sounded like a combination of Texas, Louisiana, and West Virginia. But I did enjoy the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SO FREAKING GOOD!!!

I don't write a ton of reviews. This book was amazing. I laughed, cried, a whole myriadof emotions. I literally listened to all of it at once and it's currently 4:16am while writing this. The story was great. I can honestly say I have never heard this plot twist. I had several ideas but the actuality made me rewind it and re-listion to what I had heard to make sure I heard it correctly. The narrator is next level. The only downside to it was the accent she used for Jay. I'm from Douglasville Ga as well, and we don't sound like that lol. But even in movies they make us sound like rednecks or something. Other than that particular character, she does male and female, and several different ethnic accents without a hiccup. Absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to read or listen to other books by this author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wow. Didn’t see that coming.

The final shooting scene was unexpected. At first I was disappointed that Carrie pulled the twin card but she really did an awesome job weaving it back in. I enjoyed how she transformed the mother and the best friend. I love the changes in these characters. Will look for her next book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lily
  • Lily
  • 10-12-20

Horror story

Where to start. No stars if I could. To begin with this one looked promising. Haven’t not read this author before so thought I had found something new and promising. The story begins well....... But omg, I am no prude but I didn’t want the intimate detail of what turned out to be rape. And actually it belittles rape, and is described in every detail just for the sexual thrill....really annoyed about this. The story then goes completely ridiculous. But is doesn’t matter, you’ve managed to get the sexual content in there right? Emilia Fox cannot do American Southern accent for toffee, and it makes you feel like screaming. The book starts to drag from about the middle. The police involvement was ridiculous and pure fantasy. The ending drags on for at least 3 hours. This book is not a thriller, it’s a horror story, using rape as yet another fantasy. No I will not read this author again nor will I listen to Emilia Fox if this is the tripe she now has to do. AWFUL! AWFUL! AWFUL! Yet another wasted credit based on glowing reviews.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janice
  • Janice
  • 09-11-20

Adictive

couldn't put it down. Excellent . lots of twists and turns. Finished it in a day.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 09-11-20

Utterly enthralling!

Put time aside, you wont be able to take long to complete listening to this book! One of the best suspense/thriller books I have ever listened to. Don't be put off by the length, the 14hrs goes quickly. I do have to mention a very odd occurrence (about 5 times in the book) where the same sentence is repeated as the one before - I can only assume its the recording that isn't corrected edited (and I can't believe that has not yet been fixed) as its not a mistake an author would make. Probably Emilia Fox's best narration!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John Dryden
  • John Dryden
  • 08-22-20

My guilty pleasure. So many twists and turns.

I could not stop listening there were so many twists and turns. Once you get sucked into the world of the main character it’s difficult to think of anything else. I binged the whole novel (14 hours) in two says. I was so desperate to find out the answer to the mystery I switched to double speed. It doesn’t disappoint. No spoilers, but there is a brilliant revelation at the end that I never saw coming. The reader is brilliant too. After hearing the audiobook, I immediately read the book itself. This book has been my guilty pleasure this summer and I enjoyed every moment of it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ottie sackett
  • ottie sackett
  • 10-23-20

Brilliance

absolutely BRILLIANT I LOVED IT!!! from start to finish I didnt want it to end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miriam Beard
  • Miriam Beard
  • 10-22-20

Riveting!

I enjoyed the story. Emily had a challenge with so many variational voices that she dealt with admirably. the story may be sensitive to some listeners but not offensive at all. it was well written by an extremely clever writer who was well versed in life as we don't know it. I laughed out loud at times (something I rarely do). i believe the dog could have been omitted from the storyline altogether and did little to enhance the plot. that said. I enjoyed it and I would recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for s c jackson
  • s c jackson
  • 10-21-20

Brilliant!

This is a brilliant book, loved it! I didn’t want it to end. I had no idea how the storyline was going to unfold, it went in an unexpected direction. Well narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-12-20

Thoroughly unbelievable but v enjoyable

This is a very original pyschological thriller that kept my attention throughout and Emilia Fox is a fabulous narrator, as you would expect. The storyline is pretty far-fetched really, telling the tale of one woman's fateful marriage to a man with a split personality syndrome... it gets increasingly more outlandish as the story draws to a close but I have to say I very much enjoyed the ride!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs H
  • Mrs H
  • 10-07-20

too long and ridiculously far fetched

this book became more far fetched the longer it went on. sub-plots were clumsily thrown in I was disappointed

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heidi-marie Scheel
  • Heidi-marie Scheel
  • 10-05-20

Fantastic read!

Narration was superb. Listened to it in 3 days! Would highly recommend. Full of twists and turns

1 person found this helpful