• What She Did

  • A Gripping Crime Thriller with a Jaw-Dropping Twist
  • By: Carla Kovach
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (83 ratings)

Pick 1 title (2 titles for Prime members) from our collection of bestsellers and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
Your Premium Plus plan will continue for $14.95 a month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
What She Did  By  cover art

What She Did

By: Carla Kovach
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.70

Buy for $21.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed apartment. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted since the night her mother was killed in front of her. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has been murdered, she comes face-to-face with the trauma she has spent a lifetime running from.

A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory.

Days later, Marissa’s neighbor is found dead in his home with stab wounds all over his body, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbor, but she’d never want to see him hurt. How can she convince the police that she isn’t a killer? And as the secrets from her past take hold of her present, is there anyone in her small world she can trust?

You’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems....

Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll, and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!

©2021 Carla Kovach (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about What She Did

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

very very interesting, very sitting on the edge of my seat kind of reading.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unimpressed. Overall boring and yet listened to th

Based on the reviews, I was looking forward to listening. I was quickly disappointed. The Author wanted a Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, but tried way too hard. I figured out the "who dunnit" as soon as it introduced itself. I kept hoping I was wrong and when a crumb of doubt was thrown in I was like "yay". Regrettably, it was just that and all served to be the plot "twist".... Which yes, you also figure out when a new crumb is thrown. Getting to those moments is like listening to paint dry. Author tried. She really did. Just didn't have the It or Wow factor. Sorry to be a Debbie Downer. Maybe it reads better.

The narrator was fine. Seemed to capture each character well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AJ
  • 12-22-22

Don’t wast a credit

I barely made it through this book. I love this author and narrator and I’m a faithful Gina Harte fan but this book was terrible. It’s was so repetitive and dull, I don’t know how I finished it but I’m so glad it’s over.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not worth a credit

Imogene Church is the only reason I kept listening to this book. The story could have been ok but most of it was just repeats of itself to get from the beginning to the end.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What she did

I enjoyed the story plot although I figured out the intended surprise ending early. I hated the repeated whine of same same same.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not great and forgettable

It took me a while to try and write this review. The story was not very memorable for me and I found myself not quite sure what to write. I felt the book built up well, but didn't really excite me and I can't say that I would recommend it. I generally enjoy this author, not too sure what happened with this one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful narrator.

The narrator is so. Vey. DRAMATIC! Give me a break. So completely took me out of the story. Not sure if the narrator was trying to make up for the lack of an interesting story but that’s sure what it seemed and to me that’s what it was. Wish I could get my credit back.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for chucks
  • chucks
  • 09-24-21

thrilling and gripping

Marissa witnesses a murder as a child and is emotionally disturbed. when a neighbour moves in next door things start to happen , did she murder her neighbour or didnt she. I really dont want to give much away.
Carla Kovak does it again very talented writer from the DI Gina Harte books. Carla's writing leaves you totally gripped that you cant stop listening to until the end. well done

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynne C.
  • Lynne C.
  • 10-01-21

Unfortunately i had to turn off

Im sure this story is great just couldnt stand to listen anymore as narrator's voice.
It was so wooden and felt awkward and annoying
shame as story sounds good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carol reynolds
  • carol reynolds
  • 08-03-22

Awful narration

I couldn’t listen to this the narration was awful. I couldn’t make sense of the story because of how she read it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerri H
  • Kerri H
  • 11-02-21

Well written

Well written and not too easy to guess. The main character has had a pretty raw deal. Literally everyone around her is a nightmare or a creep. Not plausible really but a good listen!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kayezzz
  • Kayezzz
  • 07-07-22

Really liked this one 👌

I think the narrator was one of the main reasons I liked this book 😊 straightforward, no nonsense voice and approach, which I thought fitted really well with the story. I also thought that the insights into the way of thinking, when someone has experienced severe trauma, were totally believable in regards to what was occurring...ending may leave the way open for another book...🤔😎