Your audiobook is waiting…

What Lies Beneath (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

Victor Loshak, Book 2
Narrated by: Curt Bonnem
Series: Victor Loshak, Book 2
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Some secrets don’t stay buried.
 

Three elaborately staged victims. No clues. A public verging on panic.
 

FBI profiler Victor Loshak heads to Kansas City to hunt another serial killer. But something about this case is all wrong.
 

The three corpses lie posed. Face up. A glove laid to cover each right eye.
 

The victims seem to be selected at random. Suburban. Upper middle class. Squeaky clean. It doesn’t make sense.
 

A piece is missing from this puzzle.
 

If Loshak can find the missing link that connects the victims, he believes he can solve the case. The obstacles are many, however.
 

And the cryptic note someone left under his windshield wiper? It warns him that danger lurks all around.
 

They bury it, and they bury it, but it won't stay dead.
 

As Loshak digs deeper, uneasiness seems to creep over everything in the city. Paranoia. A sense of dread.
 

Everyone he encounters seems to be keeping things from him. Concealing something.
 

He gets a visceral sense of the lengths people will go to hide their sins. Bury them.
 

When the suburban veneer finally strips away, all the dark secrets come clear one by one.
 

But nothing can prepare Loshak for the shocking revelation this case unearths.
 

Because what lies beneath the surface? It changes everything.
 

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the very end. Fans of James Patterson, John Sandford, and Lisa Regan should check out the Victor Loshak series.

©2019 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain (P)2019 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Sometimes the good guys win.... sometimes the bad guys do.... and sometimes, no matter what happens, there can be no winner at all. Just those that survive. Thought provoking as well as entertaining! Can't wait for the next Lochak story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic story in the Loshak series!

I am a huge fan of the Violet Darger series and Victor Loshak is obviously a major part of that series, but this is the first book I’ve read in the Loshak series. I really enjoyed this book!

The ending was very surprising to me, but I have to admit that I liked it. Especially, if this isn’t the conclusion of this story. I do not want to add any spoilers, but I am very excited to see how Vargus, Smith, and McBain use the outcome of this novel in future stories. The possibilities are endless.

If you enjoy a fast-paced crime novel, this is the book for you!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Is Bonnem tired or is it the story?

There’s a mystery here and it’s not the story. I seem to have lost my two favorite writers somewhere. Lexi and Tim where have you gone? The suspense and edge that is in the Darger series is not here. This read is slow, almost tiring; or maybe it’s Bonnem’s read. He seems a little slow, making a few errors, even mispronouncing words (Someone tell the man that foyer is a French word. ). And what the hell happened to Loshak? Is this who he really is?

The big reveal of Victor Loshak’s character in this series is uncovering a warn out, middle-aged man who is tired and waiting to retire. He is no longer the super sleuth that he was portrayed as being in the Darger series. Not only does he come across as weak and ineffectual, but he also is breaking the laws he purports so vehemently. This is not the same man as in the previous books. Where did this new and not so interesting guy come from? That is the real mystery.

Something else missing in this book is the easy banter that went on between Sphinx and Loshak in “Beyond Good and Evil”. In fact, I felt that Sphinx was underutilized here. My favorite part of this book was his undercover episode which could have been so much more. I feel gipped.

The storyline is timely. The reality scary. The outcome of the novel disquieting. So much to work with. This is not the A game I am used to from the Vargas/McBain team. Again I wonder if it has something to do with the addition of Smith. Maybe too many authors does spoil a story. At least it seems to make it tired.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loshak & Spinks are at it again!

What Lies Beneath was such an amazing listen!
It was intense yet funny! Those two together are a riot!

I will not comment on the ending, but I loved it!
I gave us even more insight into Loshak's character!

Please E.M. Smith, LT Vargus & Tim McBain, keep 'em coming!
I can't wait for #3!

As I said about him in my review of Beyond Good & Evil, no one could have narrated better than Curt Bonnem!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed!

I liked this book a lot. I've always loved FBI thrillers, and Loshak is one of my favorite main characters lately. He's a good man who is also a decent cop. I also enjoyed the parts where the killer was the focus. The narration was very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loshak at his best!

Just when you believe you know who Victor Loshak is, you are dealt a hand from left field. This latest Loshak book has him pursuing a serial killer in some upscale residential areas, along with a reporter/author/FBI consultant. Once again the authors have crafted a story filled with more twists and turns that keep their reader guessing what is coming next as the "goal posts" keep shifting. This story is a true page turner and I couldn't stop listening until Curt Bonnem had spoken the final line of this story. Once again Curt's narration provides so much life to this story it is mesmerizing.
If you are a Loshak fan, this is a must read, if you are new to Loshak, grab this and once you are hooked on this series, go back and listen the previous Loshak books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely Gripping

These books just keep getting better and better. They are a must read. They are even better when listening