Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
What Lies Beneath (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)  By  cover art

What Lies Beneath (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

By: L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain
Narrated by: Curt Bonnem
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Some secrets don’t stay buried.

Three elaborately staged victims. No clues. A public verging on panic.

FBI profiler Victor Loshak heads to Kansas City to hunt another serial killer. But something about this case is all wrong.

The three corpses lie posed. Face up. A glove laid to cover each right eye.

The victims seem to be selected at random. Suburban. Upper middle class. Squeaky clean. It doesn’t make sense.

A piece is missing from this puzzle.

If Loshak can find the missing link that connects the victims, he believes he can solve the case. The obstacles are many, however.

And the cryptic note someone left under his windshield wiper? It warns him that danger lurks all around.

They bury it, and they bury it, but it won't stay dead.

As Loshak digs deeper, uneasiness seems to creep over everything in the city. Paranoia. A sense of dread.

Everyone he encounters seems to be keeping things from him. Concealing something.

He gets a visceral sense of the lengths people will go to hide their sins. Bury them.

When the suburban veneer finally strips away, all the dark secrets come clear one by one.

But nothing can prepare Loshak for the shocking revelation this case unearths.

Because what lies beneath the surface? It changes everything.

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the very end. Fans of James Patterson, John Sandford, and Lisa Regan should check out the Victor Loshak series.

©2019 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain (P)2019 L.T. Vargus, E.M. Smith, Tim McBain

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about What Lies Beneath (A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WHAT REALLY LIES BENEATH!!

This book had so many twists and turns. It kept you on the edge throughout. Can't wait still the next book.!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this book!

Loshak is one of my favorite investors! This story is dark and exciting. My favorite Loshak book to date. I don't want to say too much about this book for fear of ruining it for you. Just jump in and enjoy!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loshak & Spinks are at it again!

What Lies Beneath was such an amazing listen!
It was intense yet funny! Those two together are a riot!

I will not comment on the ending, but I loved it!
I gave us even more insight into Loshak's character!

Please E.M. Smith, LT Vargus & Tim McBain, keep 'em coming!
I can't wait for #3!

As I said about him in my review of Beyond Good & Evil, no one could have narrated better than Curt Bonnem!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely Gripping

These books just keep getting better and better. They are a must read. They are even better when listening

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic story in the Loshak series!

I am a huge fan of the Violet Darger series and Victor Loshak is obviously a major part of that series, but this is the first book I’ve read in the Loshak series. I really enjoyed this book!

The ending was very surprising to me, but I have to admit that I liked it. Especially, if this isn’t the conclusion of this story. I do not want to add any spoilers, but I am very excited to see how Vargus, Smith, and McBain use the outcome of this novel in future stories. The possibilities are endless.

If you enjoy a fast-paced crime novel, this is the book for you!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Sometimes the good guys win.... sometimes the bad guys do.... and sometimes, no matter what happens, there can be no winner at all. Just those that survive. Thought provoking as well as entertaining! Can't wait for the next Lochak story!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story but...

this was a good story and it takes place where I live... prairie village , mission hills , Independence , MO... my only problem is why is the narrator reading with a country - hillbilly accent when they're supposed to be narratating the Kansas City people? mission hills and prairie village are uppety neighborhoods ...educated... formal. I mean, the police stations have espresso machines in them. they don't talk like that- spitting,chewing tobacco kind of small town sheriff department.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall