1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
What I Like About You  By  cover art

What I Like About You

By: Marisa Kanter
Narrated by: Dara Rosenberg
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Heartwarming, endearing, and sure to leave you swooning.... This story is as sweet as the cupcakes you’ll be craving by the end!” (Rachael Lippincott, number one New York Times best-selling author)

Can a love triangle have only two people in it? Online, it can…but in the real world, its more complicated. In this debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, Marisa Kanter hilariously and poignantly explores what happens when internet friends turn into IRL crushes.

Is it still a love triangle if there are only two people in it?

There are a million things that Halle Levitt likes about her online best friend, Nash.

He’s an incredibly talented graphic novelist. He loves books almost as much as she does. And she never has to deal with the awkwardness of seeing him in real life. They can talk about anything....

Except who she really is.

Because online, Halle isn’t Halle - she’s Kels, the enigmatically cool creator of One True Pastry, a YA book blog that pairs epic custom cupcakes with covers and reviews. Kels has everything Halle doesn’t: friends, a growing platform, tons of confidence, and Nash.

That is, until Halle arrives to spend senior year in Gramps’s small town and finds herself face-to-face with real, human, not-behind-a-screen Nash. Nash, who is somehow everywhere she goes - in her classes, at the bakery, even at synagogue.

Nash who has no idea she’s actually Kels.

If Halle tells him who she is, it will ruin the non-awkward magic of their digital friendship. Not telling him though, means it can never be anything more. Because while she starts to fall for Nash as Halle…he’s in love with Kels.

©2020 Marisa Kanter (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about What I Like About You

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Cute YA Book, From A Fan :)

This was a really cute YA and I miss these kind of stories so much :)
So the story is about Halle, who has another persona on Twitter "Kels" where she is cool and says the right thing at the right time and she has her own bookish fandom ( I really wanted to be part of that group TBH), and one of her Twitter friends "Nash" happened to live in the place where Halle and her family moves to but he doesn't know that Kels and Halle are the same person .. and Halle prefers it this way .. what will happen when he finds out ?
I liked the references about YA books and the way it was portrayed that I really want to try one of Halle's cupcakes (YUM) .. really nice book I liked it a lot :)

The narrator was really good, though sometimes I did get annoyed when she describes how Halle is in a panic attack, but this is a minor thing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Have a bowl of chowda & some great cupcakes & read

This is a great book! I love Hallie and Nash. The Boston setting was wonderful. The author made me feel like I was there. It also brought me back to my teenage years including Young Judea and USY events. I loved all the descriptions of great Jewish ho!ida y celebrations. Hal!he's family and friends were so great! I especially loved Hallie's grandfather and brother. I look forward to reading more books by this author!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful beginning-end

I love how this book works through grief and loss and teenage years through adulthood and just everything in between. It’s easy to relate to Kels/Hallie and the predicament she gets herself into. For anyone with anxiety who has experienced deep loss this book is insightful and I love how the character works through things. Sometimes they male voices were a bit awkward and it was hard to differentiate so that was the only real draw back. I also feel like this book would be 1000% times better read by yourself because the texting conversations by timeline can be hard to keep up with if you’re trying to listen while doing other things. Overall loved the story. ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Totally Love it!!

I need a second book please! I need more of these two!. The ending was not enough for me, I want more

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Cute and Heart Warming YA Story

This is the first book I've read from Marisa Kanter and I enjoyed it immensely. The inclusion of the Jewish faith was enlightening and fascinating to see how other religions celebrate their holidays and even how they feel submersed in forced christian celebrations (like the consumerism driven commercialized Christmas holiday). It's a sweet coming of age story that shows you that you need to take responsibility for your actions and the consequences associated with them. The story also shows regret, loss, family values, self esteem, friendship, acceptance and love.

I look forward to future books from Marisa Kanter.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute book with a good narration!

This book would have been a HUGE favorite of mine back in middle/high school. It follows a girl Hallie, who has a secret identity as a book blogger named Kels. She has to go through the ups and downs of trying to navigate being a normal teenager while also trying to be this cool blogger. She moves in with her grandfather aka gramps to this small town while her parents are overseas filming a movie. On her first day, she runs into this guy who... ends up being her #1 BFF online Nash! (I was kind of shocked how early this happened). She freaks out and doesn't tell him who she is... a whole lot of drama, ups, and down plus cupcakes ensue. The narration was great!!! I really enjoyed her voice, it wasn't super whiny like how other narrators do teenage voices.
Overall a cute story... was I able to see what was going to happen about a chapter before it actually happened? Did I really care Nah! That's what makes a YA novel so good to me. I love reliving the awkwardness of my teenage years. It was a good story with actually a lot of heart! I gave it a 4 because, within the book, I took small issues with some parts. Mainly the whole subplot of the author that Hallie loves comes out and says some things that ruffle some feathers. It made me think about the author who shall-not-be-named (you know who I am talking about). And I get it that issue has really shaken the book world (mainly the YA community) up. But I read YA novels to like a said early to relive my teenage year and escape from my boring almost 30-something life. But other than that subplot I really enjoyed the book and would like to see Marisa Kanter write another one!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This story is just fine for me...just fine.

1. The narrator was good 👍

2. the story was enjoyable enough for me

3. a decent romance story. I don't think this is a comedy.