Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Eager for a "doable adventure", author Christopher Koch sets off on an impromptu 1,500-mile motorcycle trip down the Mississippi River from St. Paul to New Orleans in early November 2014 - ill-equipped and underprepared as an unexpected Arctic air mass, the death rattle of a Pacific super-typhoon, washes over the American heartland.  

While meteorologists struggle for superlatives to describe the record-breaking bitter cold, Koch pushes onward to overcome the weather, mechanical troubles, and his own hubris - and in doing so learns as much about himself as the hardscrabble landscape through which he rides.

At once thought-provoking and hilarious, Welcome to Metropolis is the type of story you'll be tempted to share. 

Fans of Mary Roach and Bill Bryson may just find a new author to place on their must-read lists.

©2018 Christopher Koch (P)2018 Christopher Koch

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0