Welcome to Metropolis

Riding Solo into the Heart of America
Narrated by: Daniel McColly
Length: 7 hrs and 57 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Eager for a "doable adventure", author Christopher Koch sets off on an impromptu 2,500-mile motorcycle trip down the Mississippi River from St. Paul to New Orleans in early November 2014 - ill-equipped and underprepared as an unexpected Arctic air mass, the death rattle of a Pacific super-typhoon, washes over the American heartland.   

While meteorologists struggle for superlatives to describe the record-breaking bitter cold, Koch pushes onward to overcome the weather, mechanical troubles, and his own hubris - and in doing so learns as much about himself as the hardscrabble landscape through which he rides. 

At once thought-provoking and hilarious, Welcome to Metropolis is the type of story you'll be tempted to share.  

Fans of Mary Roach and Bill Bryson may just find a new author to place on their must-listen-to lists.  

©2018 Christopher Koch (P)2018 Christopher Koch

What listeners say about Welcome to Metropolis

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply put...... Excellent!

Mr. Koch did a fantastic job of telling his story. While it's not likely that I'll ever take my Harley on the Grand River Route, I can certainly envision the sights and sounds of the ride.

I thoroughly enjoyed tbe story and I also felt a bit of melancholy when it was over.

Waiting patiently for the next trip.