Regular price: $13.85

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The new audiobook from the author of Art in the Blood.

December 1889. Fresh from debunking a 'ghostly' hound in Dartmoor, Sherlock Holmes has returned to London, only to find himself the target of a deadly vendetta.

A beautiful client arrives with a tale of ghosts, kidnapping and dynamite on a whisky estate in Scotland, but brother Mycroft trumps all with an urgent assignment in the South of France.

On the fabled Riviera, Holmes and Watson encounter treachery, explosions, rival French detective Jean Vidocq...and a terrible discovery. This propels the duo northward to the snowy highlands. There, in a 'haunted' castle and among the copper dinosaurs of a great whisky distillery, they and their young client face mortal danger, and Holmes realizes all three cases have blended into a single deadly conundrum.

In order to solve the mystery, the ultimate rational thinker must confront a ghost from his own past. But Sherlock Holmes does not believe in ghosts...or does he?

©2017 Bonnie MacBird (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"If the original 60 Holmes stories aren't enough for you, read Bonnie MacBird's Unquiet Spirits for another dram of the Great Detective. MacBird deftly blends a series of grisly murders and dark secrets from Holmes's past into a strong brew!" (Leslie S. Klinger, editor of The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes)
"A superb Sherlockian adventure. Bonnie MacBird's take on Holmes and Watson is inventive and true to the canon, a splendid blend of fast-paced action and detection in a deliciously gothic Highland setting. I can't wait for her next book." (Dana Cameron, BSI, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity award-winning author of the Emma Fielding mysteries)
"Pour yourself a wee dram, toss another peat on the fire, and prepare to be swept up in the great detective's Highland fling. MacBird's spooky, scholarly, thoroughly 'spirited' follow up to Art in the Blood is a triumph of voice, place, and plotting. Highly recommended for fans of Sherlock, Scotland, and whisky lovers everywhere." (Catriona McPherson, best-selling author of the multi-award-winning Dandy Gilver series)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good story, but.......

The story was fine but I think the author should have made up her own characters instead of using the Sherlock Holmes characters. It was unbelievable as a Sherlock Holmes mystery. Watson and Sherlock were completely out of character from the norm in this rendition. Every time there was an opportunity to apply Sherlock’s incredible deductive capability’s, the ball was dropped and he was made to look like a fool. She even had him crying. Seriously!!!!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth a binge listen.....

Get ready to get hooked in from page one. I couldn't put it down. Multiple plots and mysteries require both Holmes and Watson to solve. The characters are well defined by the author, and the narrator does a great job interpreting the dialogue. I'm looking forward to another work from this author.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me from getting my work done

What did you love best about Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder?

In other reviews, I was quite disappointed with “The Beekeeper’s Daughter” and “The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes.”
Now we have the books those could have been.
Ms. MacBird has two very similar women in Mlle. Emmeline La Victoire (Art in the Blood) and Aila MacClaren (Unquiet Spirits).
Smart enough to be confident, their primary affect is not the need to prove themselves, but rather the confidence not to hide their own light. They are smart, but open to the insights and accomplishments of others. Holmes and Watson are not dumbed down to make these women shine; they don’t need that.
They earn our respect without themselves being disrespectful, and without doubling down on Holmes’s more Asperger traits.
I never tire of well-written Holmes and Watson, but Aila MacClaren is poised to become the female detective the genre’ has been waiting for.
As compared with Doyle’s writing, Ms. MacBird’s characters feel right, but are more three-dimensionally developed. Watson, in particular, is more fleshed out and admirable, without breaking character.
The plots are more complex than Doyle’s, and the solving bits are comparable. The adventure element is brought out more, and I don’t how much physical abuse Holmes can survive at Ms. MacBird’s hands …
It’s been a long time since a book was so engrossing that I actually shirked some of my duties to keep reading, but both of MacBird’s books had that effect on me.

What other book might you compare Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder to and why?

Nicholas Meyers' Holmes books.

What about Simon Darwen’s performance did you like?

Darwen was fine. His rendition of Sherlock is a bit querulous, and he has a little trouble juggling a Scottish accent and nuanced inflection simultaneously.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Oh, my. Yes!

Any additional comments?

More, please.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica
  • Carlsbad, CA, United States
  • 04-09-18

Good Mystery, but the characters were odd

Would you try another book from Bonnie MacBird and/or Simon Darwen?

Maybe

Which character – as performed by Simon Darwen – was your favorite?

Wonderful narration, I loved all the Scottish accents.

Did Unquiet Spirits: Whisky, Ghosts, Murder inspire you to do anything?

No

Any additional comments?

Just kind of an odd book. If Sherlock Holmes if it had not been in the title, I would have never guessed this book was about him.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A Very Un-Holmsian Holmes

This was closer to the TV show SHERLOCK rather than anything from the pen of Doyle. The case itself was interesting, and exciting in places, but Holmes acted so unlike the Great Detective that I was immensely disappointed. There was a huge argument between Holmes and Watson which didn't sit well with me, and there seemed no resolution to it...no mention of it again, as if it never happened!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lots of fun

Fast-paced, exciting story with lots of surprises and a glimpse into Holmes' past. A very satisfying conclusion.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unquiet Spirits

Very good story, narrator not as good as others I have heard. On to book # 2 by author. A think the story was a bit too long but again a very good Holmes and Watson adventure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elisabeth
  • New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA
  • 01-19-18

Is MacBird the Ghost of Watson?

As a fan of Sherlock Holmes novels, having read the whole collection, I love MacBird’s treatment of the Holmes/Watson duo. As all familiar with the genre know, the narrator is Holmes’ sidekick Dr. Watson, of whom MacBird is obviously a reincarnation. The voice is perfect Sir Arthur Conan Doyle right down to the asides and quips. Unquiet Spirits is my favorite of MacBird’s two Holmes novels. Her writing and plotting are sublime and there are enough twists and turns to keep the interest of the most jaded mystery fan , as well as some dips into Holmes mysterious youth only alluded to in Doyle’s series. This is a great read; I eagerly await novel #3!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A True Treat From Start To Finish..!!

I stumbled across this audio book quite by accident while combing through British Christmas mysteries available for the winter season.. what a pleasure this book was.. very well written with all of our favorite past characters it was well received by me ,and at the end of this review I am purchasing her other offering and will hope for more in the future..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nanciana
  • Lincoln, NE, United States
  • 11-26-17

well crafted story

this tale further fleshes out the young S. Holmes and allows the reader to see the older him as more than near automaton. he is a human being, and his iron self control is all the more astonishing for his humanity.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lucy-lou
  • 10-06-17

A good plot

After listening to this book, I must say I found the story as a whole very good. However I struggled with the narration. Although the narrator delivered the story clearly and with passion when needed. His voice sounded too modern.

It didn’t match with the era. An older more well spoken gentleman would have allowed me to picture Holmes in the way that I’m use to.

This is however my own opinion and I am, by now means suggesting that the narration wasn’t any good. It just made it very difficult for me to connect with the characters. Leading me not to enjoy the book as much.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • jacqueline neal
  • 11-07-17

Rather a waste of time

Poor narration of a poor imitation of Conan Doyle ‘s work . I finished only because it helped to pass the time while I redecorated and it required no attention. I had solved the crime a very long time before Sherlock.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • wendy
  • 10-13-17

Good story, badly read

Good story, badly read by an enthusiastic narrator who just wasn't right for the tone of the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paul
  • 05-17-18

Great Listen hope there will be more

Great listen hope there will be more , if you like Sherlock books this is for you

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR M C CHANDLER
  • 01-15-18

On the edge of my seat

This story kept me captivated throughout. A great narrator knows how to grasp the essence of the story as well as what the author wants to say and how it should be said.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lawrence D.
  • 01-11-18

Awesome combination

Awesome combination - wonderful story and wonderful reading... being a Sherlock Holmes fan.. just loved it...