adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.49

Buy for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed internationally best-selling author Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal crime and the two teenagers - Ryo, the son of the murdered man, and Yukiho, the daughter of the main suspect - whose lives remain inextricably linked over the 20-year search for the truth behind the crime.  

In Osaka in 1973, the body of a murdered man is found in an abandoned building. Investigating the crime, Detective Sasagaki is unable to find the killer. Over the next 20 years, through the lens of a succession of characters, Higashino tells the story of two teens, Ryo and Yukiho, whose lives are most affected by the crime, and the obsessed detective, Sasagaki, who continues to investigate the murder, looking for the elusive truth.  

Under the Midnight Sun is a complex psychological novel about crime and its aftereffects by one of the most read and most accomplished contemporary mystery authors. A twisting, compelling work that will astonish and delight fans both old and new alike.

©1999 Keigo Higashino; tranlation copyright 2016 by Alexander O. Smith (P)2019 Tantor

Featured Article: 10 Famous Japanese Authors You Have to Hear


Thanks to the work of translators and publishers, Japanese literature is now more accessible than ever to English-speaking audiences. If you've ever wanted to learn more about Japanese culture and literature, you cannot go wrong with listening to audiobooks from Japan. We've compiled a list of the most famous Japanese authors who have helped define Japanese literature, and their notable works across genres and time periods.

What listeners say about Under the Midnight Sun

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

So many subplots and twists

The book is amazing in the way it introduces so many sub plots which seem random but then end up leading to the same end. The portrayal of the lead characters from their childhood through adulthood is amazing, you can literally imagine their expressions as you read. While there is so much darkness there’s also a part of you they feels sorry for the kids. A book that keeps a good pace for the most part, some incidents get boring when being narrated a couple different times. The narrator for the audible version does a great job differentiating the voices for each of the characters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A troubling story with excellent suspense

Higashino’s tale of trauma and deceit is full of very troubling plot devices that make you despise many of its characters and worry for the rest of them. Characters are revealed by second hand accounts of their actions, which slowly builds suspense as you pray that someone will stop the next event.
TW for a graphic description of rape.

Shih’s narration is good, but unfortunately lacks nuance when voicing female characters.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Children Are Damaged Psychologically

This story is deep Psychologically. What happens to a 15 year old, psychologically, when her mother sells her daughter in order to put food on the table and keep a roof over their heads? What becomes of the 15 year old classmate, when he commits a crime as he tries to protect the girl? These are the glaring questions that this story provoked for me. This story is 19 plus hours long and even though the Japanese names are very confusing because they sound so very much alike to my ears, the story held my interest all the way through. I finished the listen in three days!. The characters/investigators cleared any confusion that I had as they discussed the case/cases amongst themselves. So when the stories were told from different viewpoints, that was a good thing. There are 3 or 4 murders, and at least 3 assaults against young girls. So the tension in the storyline kept building as the murder investigations proceeded. The narrator, David Shih, gave and excellent performance

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Higashino is a master storyteller

Blown away by how Higashino weaves this story. This is my third book by this author and I am yet to be disappointed. It's a slow burn, but the author knows how to keep your attention. Shih's narration is spectacular.
Definitely worth the money!