adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.99

Buy for $24.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the bestselling author of Wish Me Home comes a breathtaking novel about the secrets that families keep and one woman’s illuminating search for the truth.

Quinn Maguire has a stable life, a fiancé, and what she thinks is a clear vision for her future. All of that comes undone by her mother’s deathbed confession - the absentee father Quinn spent thirty years resenting is not her real father at all. With that one revealing whisper, Quinn embarks on a journey to Maui, her mother’s childhood home, a storied paradise that holds the truth about her mother’s past and all its secrets Quinn is determined to uncover. 

But settling on the island has its complications, and with the fiancé she left behind questioning every choice she makes, Quinn’s quest for her truth is even more difficult than she expected. As time passes and she digs deeper into her family history and her own identity, one thing becomes clear: Maui is as beautiful as she’d always imagined, and its magic is helping uncover the woman that Quinn was always meant to be.

©2019 by Kay Bratt. (P)2019 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

"Quinn Maguire has grown up believing that she knows the truth about her complicated childhood. But when her mother dies shortly after revealing an earth-shaking family secret, everything changes in an instant. Kay Bratt beautifully draws the story of a daughter returning to Maui - the enchanted land that she believes holds the key to her past - where she unlocks a promising future she never could have imagined. Full of secrets, love and gorgeous settings, True to Me is the ultimate escape." --Kristy Woodson Harvey, bestselling author of Slightly South of Simple

"Heartfelt and brimming with lively characters, True to Me is a poignant reminder of the meaning of family, the importance of truth, and the power of forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Christine Nolfi and Cathy Lamb." --Sonja Yoerg, Washington Post bestselling author of True Places

"Bratt writes a beautiful tale of family which grabbed me from the very first page. Quinn, mourning the loss of her mother, must travel to Maui in search of her roots. Leaving behind her fiancé Ethan, she is drawn to the island’s rich history and the locals who welcome her into their world. Woven between the pages is the deep mystery of Quinn’s past, and the DNA test that leads her to a family she never knew. Bratt takes the reader on a heartfelt journey of family and forgiveness while Quinn teaches us about those we should let in and those we should let go. For at the very core of the novel is the rare gift of being true to one's self." --Rochelle B. Weinstein, USA Today bestselling author 

What listeners say about True to Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,178
  • 4 Stars
    516
  • 3 Stars
    204
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,109
  • 4 Stars
    395
  • 3 Stars
    133
  • 2 Stars
    31
  • 1 Stars
    18
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,028
  • 4 Stars
    422
  • 3 Stars
    170
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deathbed Confessions and Lifelong Secrets

From one of my favorite authors comes, True to Me, a novel about a young woman bringing her mother’s ashes to Hawaii to the island of Maui, to learn about her mother’s and her own past. Flying to Hawaii alone (without her fiancee who has commitment issues) Quinn goes to scatter her mother’s ashes and to unbury the secrets kept from her all her life. Her mother’s deathbed confession that the man whom Quinn had always thought was her father wasn’t, has left Quinn reeling. And even after going through all her mother’s things, Quinn is no closer to finding the truth . . . except for finding a very old picture of two young girls, her mother and her best friend, with a name scribbled on it. For as long as Quinn can remember, it had been just her and her mother alone, barely scraping by, but after her mother’s death, she was surprised to find that she had an inheritance. Going against her own tendencies to always think things over and get her fiancée, Ethan’s input into every decision, Quinn used the money she inherited to buy a house on Maui (sight unseen). It was money she never expected to have anyway, she reasoned, and it would make a nice vacation and rental property. But when she arrived in Maui, she was shocked to find the house still occupied by the former tenants. Here is where the story gets most interesting. The ways of the native people of Hawaii are NOT like most of us rush-every-minute Americans. The expressions and culture of these people, as well as their fears and beliefs, are rich and go back generations. The author paints a picture of the island and its people that is so vivid and beautiful that I could nearly feel the gentle breeze blowing. The respect for and wisdom of the elders in Hawaii and the closeness of family goes deep. I loved learning all about their ways, and about the island, water and sea animals. I grew to love Quinn, as well. And I caught myself cheering the longer she was away from Ethan and his selfish influence over her. The hunt for Quinn and her mother’s family took several turns and wasn’t at all what I expected. Quinn’s patience and growing friendship with Maria, her children and with Liam, who was doing the renovations on the home which Quinn bought, was described in rich detail. Quinn’s own reconnection with her best friend, Maggie was a wonderful part of the story. Another favorite for me was Kupuna (grandfather) who was blind, and lived with his daughter, Maria and her two children. His wisdom and kindness when he first greeted Quinn with the traditional, Aloha, struck me right away, since the greeting has a much deeper spiritual meaning for native Hawaiians. As the tale unfolded, it became more and more beautiful, enveloping the listener into each person’s individual role, as well as the group’s story. The culmination was perfect. I can’t wait for the next in the series.

37 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Extremely predictable

Most of this book was extremely predictable which I found annoying. I did listen until the end though.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Sitting on the fence with this one...

I did listen to the end, but I skipped most of the epilogue...too wordy. Some confusing characters and felt like too much effort went into making characters/story line seem more mysterious. Some far-fetchedness in the story events, but a happy ending.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldnt do it

I tried.... but the reading just made it impossible for me to be able to listen and that hasn’t happened often for me.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So glad I purchased this book

First off, Sarah Mollo-Christensen is one of my favorite narrators. Her way of reading, the inflections in her voice are just perfect.
This story is mesmerizing. I got pulled into Quinn's life from the first chapter and had trouble putting it down. There are so many nuances to Quinn's story that are all woven together perfectly. Getting a glimpse into the Hawaiian culture was a bonus. It is a story about psychological abuse in a relationship and understanding about her heritage (which was a total surprise). This was all told with no swearing or graphic sex.
I most certainly will look for more books by Kay Bratt.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely amazing story!!

I seldom write reviews. This book is wonderful - the story and characters come to life making you want to move to Maui. Beautifully written and the narrator was perfect. Highly recommend!!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

This book was a choice I picked

This is a good book for young people to read about chooses in life. To see things as they are. No regrets.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful listen.

Smooth listen. My children listened in as well. The story covered actual situations experienced by the people of Hawaii, not just from Maui. The sense and connection of family, the land transfers, the homeless, etc. all exist. The development of the main character was good too.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

Enjoyed this book a lot. The story is what I would call a family drama. For the most part it takes place in Maui, Hawaii which got my attention. The story was very good—I felt like in places it could have gone a little deeper but I enjoyed it and would definitely read it again.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful story about finding yourself

My review of True To Me:

This is a beautifully written story about a young woman's search for her family and finding her true self as well. Quinn was a successful business woman, had a fiance and thought her life was on track until her mother's deathbed confession. Now Quinn is set out on a journey to find her family on her mothers island of Maui. During this journey Quinn finds her true self and makes life changing decisions. She reconnects with old friends and find new friends along the way.

9 people found this helpful