Toric's Dagger

Book One of the Weapon Takers Saga
Series: The Weapon Takers Saga, Book 1
Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
4 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A fast-paced and action-packed adventure, set in a detailed and compelling fantasy world.

Toric's Dagger is just another religious relic, until it's stolen. Belwynn and her twin brother, Soren, volunteer to lead a team tasked with its retrieval. Drawn into a world of danger and treachery, they must rely on Soren's magical abilities, and on the telepathic bond they share.

Now, as kingdoms and empires start to fall, the twins confront the dark forces that threaten them. They must not let the Dagger fall into the wrong hands. But when mercenaries, zealots, and sorcerers are all hunting for the same weapon, who should they trust?

Book one of the Weapon Takers saga, an epic fantasy series in the tradition of Tolkien, Tad Williams, & George R. R. Martin. The story is told from multiple points of view and is perfect for listeners who like their fantasy done on a grand scale.

Connect with the author at jamieedmundson.com.

"Outstanding...Quite simply, this is the most fun I've had reading since the Kingkiller Chronicles" (readper)

©2017 Jamie Edmundson (P)2018 Jamie Edmundson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Start to the Series

I listened to Toric’s Dagger as an audiobook. It has two narrators for each of the main characters, one male and one female, which provided a unique listening experience.

Toric’s Dagger was an interesting book, and I really loved the worldbuilding throughout the book. There are some very cool pieces of history around the dagger and the religious and historical importance of it. There are also introductions to very different cultures and how they work.

The two main characters, Belwynn and Soren, had a really interesting relationship with some awesome abilities. The magic system that Soren used had consequences which can be seen frequently when he overdoes himself, however, it is often the saving move which gets them out of a multitude of issues. The rest of the main cast is large, and as such a lot of their motivations aren’t developed as much as I’d like.

The plot flowed well for most of the book with a few red herrings and events linking back to things that happened earlier. I did have a bit of issue with where the book ended, however. In my opinion, it ended right in the middle of the climax without a real ending to wind the tension down. I wasn’t a massive fan of this because it detracts from the feeling of the novel being its own story, and makes it feel more like it’s just trying to wind up to the rest of the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

I enjoyed this book good story a liltte slow at times

I received this audiobook free in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Promising Start to Epic Story

Toric's Dagger is a fun and promising start to what looks to be an epic story. The range of characters is diverse, their motives nuanced, and the history of the races and cultures deep (and deeper than many know). The rotating viewpoints and related-yet-separate plotlines occurring in different areas help to both understand why some things happen that one group would have no knowledge of, but which impacts them and their mission. An enjoyable listen and recommended for any fantasy fan.

Disclaimer: I was given a free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Epic Fantasy

First of all, whoever made the casting choices for the voice actors? Good job.

The book is voiced by two people, a man (Greg Patmore) who narrates the story and voices the men and a woman (Bridget Thomas) who narrates the women. It's not too common that books are narrated this way, so it threw me off for a second. But after I got used to it it really works for this book. Especially because you meet so many different characters it helps to differentiate them.

The genre is "epic fantasy" and I'd like to put emphasis on the word "epic." A lot happens in this story. I mean, a lot. It starts with a bad of thieves, led by brother and sister duo Soren and Belwynn, who are brought in to reclaim Toric's Dagger, a relic stolen from their home kingdom. They travel across kingdoms and empires an even to lands of different races. My head is spinning with the expanse of this story.

I listened to the book over the course of ten days and one bit of advice I'd like to offer: Take it slow and savor it. I am going to have to re-listen to this, because I'm sure there are important things I missed. But I enjoyed the book the first time around and I will enjoy it a second time.

Good for fans of expansive and epic fantasy audiobooks.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Toric

Cute fantasy story! What would it be like, if you could travel with them! Narrator was great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wow

This was an awesome listen! I was gripped from the start!!! Can not wait to hear the second book!!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

A good story.

This is a good book but it is slow in some places. I received this audio book free and voluntarily reviewed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging story.

I really enjoyed this book and felt the narrator did a really good job. looking forward to more of the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vast💚

Torrics Dagger is an awesome start to what looks to be a great series. This tale is definitely on a vast scale and takes the reader on an imaginative impressive and exciting journey. Concise, vivid and lively paced writing.

Narration was extraordinary!

I received a free copy of this book and am voluntary leaving a review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great introduction to the series!

Incredible world building and a really interesting magic system made of this a very good listen. I loved the world and all the history behind it. The two narrators were pretty good and kept me interested in the story to the end. Can't wait for the next installment!

I received this free audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Rowlands
  • C. Rowlands
  • 12-23-18

Balance skewed towards series building

When an author is writing a series, it can often be difficult to get the balance between being a strong book in it's own right as well as setting the scene for the books to follow and this time I think the author didn't get the balance quite right with the ending in particular seeming too abrupt. Despite this complaint, I did enjoy this book overall with it having a varied and interesting cast and effective world-building that should continue to payoff in subsequent books.

The performances of the narrators were both enjoyable and obviously helps to make the characters more distinctive with the two of them sharing the duties which nicely enhanced the overall performance.

Overall, this book is a strong first part of this series and I will look out for future installments, but it could have been a bit stronger in it's own right.

[Note - I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.]

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miss
  • miss
  • 03-18-20

lost

sadly this has been a book I just couldn't seem to get into and follow. I'm not sure why this was so but I did start this book at least 4 times but every time it didn't get any better.