adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

There are excellent reasons why New York Times best-selling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this "writing powerhouse" (USA Today), who has "exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time" (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten - a must-listen for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben.

©2009 Laura Lippman (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about To the Power of Three

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Worst narration ever.

The narrator suffers from dry mouth and possibly asthma, since you hear her every inhalation. It was really annoying, but I like Laura Lippman's writing so I listened to it all. Had I realized another narrator read an abridged version, I probably would have bought it instead.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing, terrible narration

When I purchased To the Power of Three I didn't realize it was published in 2005. I've read a lot of Laura Lippmann books and liked them all. Thank goodness I didn't read this first. There's a reason it was just released in audio— it's slow. Maybe even dull. "Maybe" because the narration is so dull it's hard to tell if the book itself is dull or just in need of editing. It's even possible that with the right narrator the audio version could have improved upon the print version. But alas, the chosen narrator is just awful. Slow. Dull. Monotonous. Sleep-inducing. Same voice for every character.

To make things worse, the production quality is also terrible. For long stretches we hear the narrator's deep inhales and gulping swallows. Some chapters run into each other without pause and others break with such long silences I found myself checking to see if I'd hit the pause button accidentally.

I was ready to stop and return the book multiple times but just couldn't believe a Laura Lippman audiobook could be this hard to listen to! And periodically the narrator's pace would pick up a bit and the embarrassing, wet background noises would disappear, giving me hope after all! For awhile. Then back to the slow monotone and personal moments.

Take my advice— pass on this one. Audible, I wasted a credit on this. You should have insisted on a do-over before stocking this Laura Lippmann novel. I feel taken advantage of.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This isn't how teens sound

Would you try another book from Laura Lippman and/or Alexandra O'Karma?

I love Laura Lippman but Alexandra O'Karma made every teen girl sound the same (depressed, bored).

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

I stayed interested and wanted to find out if I'd guessed correctly. (I had.) There was no jaw dropping plot twist but the story was entertaining and characters interesting.

Did Alexandra O'Karma do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

No. As stated above, every teen girl sounded the same, used the same cadence, inflections, etc. I have 6 kids and I work with adolescents, so I know that even best friends don't sound that much alike or that depressed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The story is wonderful, the narration is painful

This was probably one of Ms. Lippman’s best stories and is certainly one of the worst narrated books.

The narrator sounds half dead, has no inflection and you can hear her swallowing, licking her lips and breathing like an obscene phone caller. It was painful to listen to.

She also takes such long pauses I frequently thought the narration stopped all together.

Read the book, skip the audio.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, horrible narration and production

I love this author but it was a struggle to finish this book. I listened to it at 1.45 speed and while it sped up the droll monotonous sentences, you could still drive a truck between phrases. I often would look at my phone in between to check to make sure it was still playing the pauses were so long.
Plus the constant sound of licking lips and breathing got awkward and frustrating.
I wish I had read this one in book form, I probably would have enjoyed it much more.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 08-23-16

Great story ruined by appalling narration

What would have made To the Power of Three better?

A good narrator.

What other book might you compare To the Power of Three to, and why?

I can't think of any off hand but it is an excellent story that I wish I'd waited to read rather than listen to.

Would you be willing to try another one of Alexandra O'Karma’s performances?

I would rather chew off my right arm.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Anger and depression because of the narration. Disappointment that an excellent story was spoiled by such dreadful narration.

Any additional comments?

This actress should not be narrating audiobooks. Perhaps she's good on stage or on screen but her pace of narration, the odd tone and the depressing and soporific effect of her voice, completely destroyed any pleasure I might have taken in listening to this story.

1 person found this helpful