Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
To the Power of Three  By  cover art

To the Power of Three

By: Laura Lippman
Narrated by: Alexandra O'Karma
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.79

Buy for $28.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

There are excellent reasons why New York Times best-selling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this "writing powerhouse" (USA Today), who has "exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time" (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten - a must-listen for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben.

©2009 Laura Lippman (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about To the Power of Three

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This isn't how teens sound

Would you try another book from Laura Lippman and/or Alexandra O'Karma?

I love Laura Lippman but Alexandra O'Karma made every teen girl sound the same (depressed, bored).

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

I stayed interested and wanted to find out if I'd guessed correctly. (I had.) There was no jaw dropping plot twist but the story was entertaining and characters interesting.

Did Alexandra O'Karma do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

No. As stated above, every teen girl sounded the same, used the same cadence, inflections, etc. I have 6 kids and I work with adolescents, so I know that even best friends don't sound that much alike or that depressed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The story is wonderful, the narration is painful

This was probably one of Ms. Lippman’s best stories and is certainly