Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times best-selling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss - who's been avoiding him - is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values - and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

©2014 Deborah Crombie (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about To Dwell in Darkness

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    284
  • 4 Stars
    155
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    294
  • 4 Stars
    111
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    133
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I confess; I'm a huge fan!

I have loved every one of Deborah Crombie's books since I read the first few in print some years ago. While I certainly have favorites, none have disappointed. But this latest, happily anticipated and awaited continuation of the story of Duncan and Gemma has satisfied in every way, way beyond expectations. The characters continue to develop in interesting ways, and this particular story segment is timely and well crafted. I find myself so enjoying the story that I want to hurry along, and at the same time I want to go slowly, holding off on completing the story and savoring every part. Sweet dilemma.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gold Standard

What did you love best about To Dwell in Darkness?

Deborah Crombie once again embroiders a touching yet suspenseful story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Melody. She has her own interesting set of issues and seems to have been most deeply changed by the events of this story. I'm wondering how she'll fare.

What does Gerard Doyle bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The English spirit infused in the story. I'd be reading it with an American point of view and might miss things which he emphasizes.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Neither. It's not that kind of book. It's sit on the edge of your seat king of book.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait for next one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story telling

I'm thinking of the stories more as installments rather than stand alone novels. a story is told amidst the main characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

I discovered Deborah Crombie a couple years ago. She has become my favorite writer. I love her characters. I love the way she describes locations in a way that makes me feel I've been there. I love her intricate and surprising plots.

The mystery starts early in this book and keeps on until the end. I made the mistake of listening to it at bed time one night. I got so involved in the story I stayed awake much too late.

Gerard Doyle is one of the best narrators I've heard. I love the tone of his voice. He is able to distinguish the characters enough so that I always know who is speaking, yet his voice never overshadows the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorite authors.

Interesting detail moved along by the historical back drop. Personal story of the central characters serves as an excellent emotional backdrop.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seems very timely in topic

I have always enjoyed this series. I believe that Deborah Crombie writes very well--and this was nicely narrated by Gerard Doyle.

In this book, Duncan and Gemma are each dealing with different cases, but Duncan has the greater role, as he is trying to trace the people who seem to have been involved with a frightening bombing incident at St Pancras' train station.

What I really like about this series is that it consistently presents very good mysteries to work out, and the main characters are a touching blended family who always manage to make their kids a priority--despite their busy lives policing. Something I'm noticing though, is that there seem to be so many peripheral characters, that it slightly detracts from Gemma, Duncan, their kids & close assistants in a way that feels (to me) as though the good tension that held with the earlier books is loosening a bit.

Nevertheless, in a series of this sort--where one has followed from the beginning, it is difficult to criticize--expanding acquaintances is the way of life--so it makes sense. But I think I did enjoy the earlier ones a bit more. Still recommend!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One more stellar mystery by Deborah Crombie

What made the experience of listening to To Dwell in Darkness the most enjoyable?

Having read all of her previous books in this series, it was like rejoining a family. She keeps the tension, however, by always adding new and complex characters. The mix of plot twists, domesticity and kittens is irresistible.To

Who was your favorite character and why?

Kitt, Toby, Gemma, Melody ... well, most of them. Why? They are real and familiar, yet human enough to keep one engaged.

Which scene was your favorite?

The mother cat with the kittens, when first discovered, is a sure favorite. However, there are many. This question is pretty irrelevant in the context of a complex mystery.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Many. I shall not elucidate because I would not want to be a spoiler.

Any additional comments?

If only there were more living authors as talented as Deborah Crombie ....

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I love this series though I’ve skipped those with the female narrator. In every book I’ve learned something along with a great story. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never a dull moment

Any additional comments?

Great read. A lot of action. Like able characters. Can not wait until the sequel

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

start with the beginning of the series

This is not a stand-alone book. I think you must need to read these in order. I was able to get 2 hours into it, but the plot line wasn't much advanced, it was mostly the individual characters being concerned for each other, that took up a lot of time. 1/5 of the way in and the many main characters have just touched base with each other and reassured themselves of each others safety. or not. (not giving anything away here). Didn't really care for it. the "detective"-ness of it is subpar. more of a character study i think, and since I have no previous involvement or investment in the the characters, it is completely uninteresting.

2 people found this helpful