adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the international best seller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Lowland Way is the suburban dream. The houses are beautiful, the neighbors get along, and the kids play together on weekends. 

But when Darren and Jodie move into the house on the corner, they donʼt follow the rules. They blast music at all hours, begin an unsightly renovation, and run a used-car business from their yard. It doesn’t take long for an all-out war to start brewing.

Then, early one Saturday, a horrific death shocks the street. As police search for witnesses, accusations start flying - and everyone has something to hide. 

Narrated by Katharine McEwan with Jonathan Cowley, Jayne Entwistle, Andrew Fallaize, Paul Fox, Billie JD Porter, and Moira Quirk  

©2019 Louise Candlish (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"[A] disturbing novel of domestic suspense. With a structure reminiscent of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.... A nicely paced, wryly intelligent novel with sharp insights into human behavior.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“[An] intricately plotted yet fast-paced storyline. This fiendishly twisty and suspenseful tale of secrets, lies, jealousy, and intrigue keeps readers guessing until the very end. Fans of Celeste Ng and Leila Slimani will be pleased with this contemporary take on families and violence.” (Booklist)

"Highly entertaining.... Candlish forcefully builds the tension in Those People until it reaches a crescendo that is as frightening as it is believable.... Candlish knows how to turn everyday situations sinister.” (Associated Press)

What listeners say about Those People

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Wasted a credit

This story is boring. No character development. Nothing much happens and when it does you’re so disconnected from the characters and annoyed with them you don’t care. Terrible, incomplete ending.
Book was a complete waste of time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4 .3 Totally enjoyed this book. nice mystery

as always there will be no spoilers in my reviews
this book was a last minute decision as I was waiting for the release of a different book but the narration of the other was horrible in the sample. that lead me here. I loved this book
in the beginning I had trouble with the amount of characters but I managed to get it straight early enough. its one of those books that could have had multiple endings , I actually love for the author to put out a mini book with a few of the alternate possibilities. that being said. the narrator did a Top Notch job. her tones matched spot on. It was a fun ride.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 08-07-19

Great read or should I say listen

I didn’t want to turn it off. The story line was good. The narration was fantastic!! I love when there are multiple narrators, it gives so much more depth to the characters.

The story was easy to follow and one of the few times I didn’t have the ending figured out midway through the book.

The writer brought out the characters so that I could really empathize with their situation.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SM
  • 06-21-19

DEPRESSING

Yes...not all books are uplifting or have a nice ending. But there was no redeeming quality about these characters. Justice did not prevail. It was just a depressing snip in time. I’d like my time back.

1 person found this helpful