Your audiobook is waiting…

Those People

Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (43 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the international best seller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Lowland Way is the suburban dream. The houses are beautiful, the neighbors get along, and the kids play together on weekends. 

But when Darren and Jodie move into the house on the corner, they donʼt follow the rules. They blast music at all hours, begin an unsightly renovation, and run a used-car business from their yard. It doesn’t take long for an all-out war to start brewing.

Then, early one Saturday, a horrific death shocks the street. As police search for witnesses, accusations start flying - and everyone has something to hide. 

Narrated by Katharine McEwan with Jonathan Cowley, Jayne Entwistle, Andrew Fallaize, Paul Fox, Billie JD Porter, and Moira Quirk  

©2019 Louise Candlish (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"[A] disturbing novel of domestic suspense. With a structure reminiscent of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.... A nicely paced, wryly intelligent novel with sharp insights into human behavior.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“[An] intricately plotted yet fast-paced storyline. This fiendishly twisty and suspenseful tale of secrets, lies, jealousy, and intrigue keeps readers guessing until the very end. Fans of Celeste Ng and Leila Slimani will be pleased with this contemporary take on families and violence.” (Booklist)

“Prepare to be gripped; Those People is nail-bitingly tense from the first page to the last. Louise Candlish shows us the dark side of suburbia - and of ourselves.” (Erin Kelly, author of the international bestseller He Said/She Said)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 08-07-19

Great read or should I say listen

I didn’t want to turn it off. The story line was good. The narration was fantastic!! I love when there are multiple narrators, it gives so much more depth to the characters.

The story was easy to follow and one of the few times I didn’t have the ending figured out midway through the book.

The writer brought out the characters so that I could really empathize with their situation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4 .3 Totally enjoyed this book. nice mystery <br />

as always there will be no spoilers in my reviews
this book was a last minute decision as I was waiting for the release of a different book but the narration of the other was horrible in the sample. that lead me here. I loved this book
in the beginning I had trouble with the amount of characters but I managed to get it straight early enough. its one of those books that could have had multiple endings , I actually love for the author to put out a mini book with a few of the alternate possibilities. that being said. the narrator did a Top Notch job. her tones matched spot on. It was a fun ride.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SM
  • 06-21-19

DEPRESSING

Yes...not all books are uplifting or have a nice ending. But there was no redeeming quality about these characters. Justice did not prevail. It was just a depressing snip in time. I’d like my time back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful