adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the “raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless” (Wendy Walker, USA Today best-selling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve - perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she’s even better at getting away with murder.

Every year, Dr. Clark searches for the worst man at Gorman University - professor, student, or otherwise - and plots his well-deserved demise. Thanks to her meticulous planning, she’s avoided drawing attention to herself…but as she’s preparing for her biggest kill yet, the school starts probing into the growing body count on campus. Determined to keep her enemies close, Dr. Clark insinuates herself into the investigation and charms the woman in charge. Everything’s going according to her master plan…until she loses control with her latest victim, putting her secret life at risk of exposure.

Meanwhile, Gorman student Carly Schiller is just trying to survive her freshman year. Finally free of her emotionally abusive father, all Carly wants is to focus on her studies and fade into the background. Her new roommate has other ideas. Allison Hadley is cool and confident - everything Carly wishes she could be - and the two girls quickly form an intense friendship. So when Allison is sexually assaulted at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with making the attacker pay...and turning her fantasies about revenge into a reality.

“A gorgeously-written ragestorm of a thriller” (Wendy Heard, author of The Kill Club), They Never Learn is a feminist serial killer story that you won’t be able to put down.

©2020 Layne Fargo. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What listeners say about They Never Learn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Well...that was something

I'll say I was looking forward to this one for awhile. Based of the summary it sounded good. Well, I'm not sure what this was. It definitely wasn't what I was expecting. I would have appreciated a little advanced warning about it though. That said, you'll like this if the following are your cup of tea.

All men are awful, apparently, and will assault you. Even the nice ones.

A surprising number of people are cool with someone killing people and want to do it themselves.

Women seem to all be lesbians, Not an issue, just wasn't expecting it or that it happen that many times.

There are absolutely no likeable characters except for Drew and his partner. Definitely not a light read or a heartwarming, uplifting tale.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book!!!

A serial killer with a purpose. Scarlet protects her young students by taking care of the male predators in her area. How will Carley and Scarlet cross paths? Well you will have to find out for yourself and you will love the connection. The ending is an ending you hope to get.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A PERFECT THRILLER

I loved everything about this book and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the multiple narrator format, a good thriller, and lots of sexy romance. I loved the main character more than I have any main character in a long time. Layne Fargo creates an entire world and her use of language pulls you in, sets the scene, and all but puts the weapon in your hand! I loved the strong women throughout the book and the focus on the lack of consequences for those who commit sexual assault on college campuses and off. We need to do better. Love love loved it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Got me out of my slump!

I’ve been in an Audible slump! NO MORE! This was amazing! I yelled “what????” In the car at one point. Nothing like rooting for a psycho killer. If you’re a man hater, you’ll really love it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!!!

What an intriguing story! I could barely put it down to go to sleep or do work. I must say I never thought I’d be rooting for someone like Scarlet but I was invested in her staying safe and protecting those who needed it. I loved that there were two narrators. They both did an amazing job! I recommend this book to people who are not turned off by vigilante or women loving women story. Excellent book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful plot and twists

I really enjoyed this novel, it provided enough suspense and twists I didn’t see coming. Kept me engaged and curious.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I couldn’t stop listening! I especially loved Scarlett’s internal dialogue which had me laughing out loud, probably inappropriately.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unlikable Main Character

NO SPOILERS! The book held my interest but the main character wasn’t developed enough and I ended up not liking her. Without a vested interest in a character it sort of fell flat for me. Maybe if they got into what made her who she was. Not the college years but her childhood. I couldn’t understand or justify why she did some things.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

I saw this book sometime at the beginning of the year and I was interested because of how dark and eerie the cover was but as soon as I read the description I was knew I had to have this book. All that said books like this tend to be hard to review due to the nature of the book and I just want to go ahead and say both the book and this review have some heavy trigger warnings for mention of rape and sexual asult.

The thing about a book like this is that you can never really enjoy it because of the subject but I was interested and couldn't put it down. The way Fargo chose to go ahead and open with such a visceral chapter with Scarlet is exactly what had me hooked. I knew from that moment this book was going to be a wild ride.

The thing I think I loved most about this book was how it didn't shy away from anything. Fargo did not try and pad this book or make it palatable. She made sure every second of this book was just as dark and hard to read as the subject it depicts warrants. While she never directly describes rape in this book she makes sure you know and feel not only the anger an act like this causes but also the shame it makes some people feel. The way it changes you and those around you.

Fargo also does an amazing job showing just how hard it is to get someone to listen, to believe, to care even. The acts every person in authority takes in this book so perfectly mirrors what so many survivors go though its sad. The way you see Carley's faith in a broken system fading with each new person she talks to and her anger growing with each and every let down she faces. She so perfectly sums up that even those we think we can trust can let us down and break us in the end.

If I had to makes any complaint about this book it would be that I saw both "twist" coming from the beginning but that didn't bother me. For me this book wasn't even really about that. It was about two women fighting for justice in a system that favors abusers and treats victims like liers. Its about two woman taking back control of their lives and bodies and standing up to pretext other woman.

This book was everything I wanted it to be and more! I would say if you can handle this book you should read it. Its such a fascinating take on rape culture and how the systum is set up to favor the attacker and not the victim. Oh and side bonus points its queer.