• The Virgin's Daughter

  • Tudor Legacy, Book 1
  • By: Laura Andersen
  • Narrated by: Rosalind Ashford
  • Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (172 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin's Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?

Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She's made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel's very life and the security of the nation in peril.

Only those closest to Elizabeth - her longtime confidante, Minuette; her advisor and friend, Dominic; and the couple's grown children - can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet all of the queen's maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing.

©2015 Laura Andersen (P)2015 Audible Inc.

What listeners say about The Virgin's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    20
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RC
  • 06-10-15

Intriguing premise, good story, great storytelling

Any additional comments?

What if Elizabeth I had produced an heir? How would the course of history have changed? In this compelling glimpse into Elizabeth's life and those of the people closest to her, we are treated to a well-crafted fictionalized version of history that is liberally peppered by actual facts. Both real and imagined historical characters are brought to life by really good narration/storytelling. The reader has a very pleasing voice and creates clear personalities for each of the players in a high-stakes royal game of intrigue and politics. I found myself lost in this thoroughly enjoyable tale--which is, of course, what good storytelling should do. Looking forward to hearing the rest of this series.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice continuation!

!!!SPOILERS!!!

This was a very nice continuation of the Boleyn books. I was hoping for a more devastating secret from Nicola. The fact that he was screwing Julian's first love was a let down, of sorts. I was expecting something to the effect of Julian was Felix's real father. I DO like the fact that Mary Stuart is in play again. I can only imagine how upset Queen Elizabeth will be when the details of the plot come to light. Here's hoping for another book!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FUN FUN FUN!

Would you listen to The Virgin's Daughter again? Why?

Yes, I really enjoyed the book and recommended it to my sister who has read the Boleyn series after me. We really enjoy the Laura Andersen's writing.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Virgin's Daughter?

I don't want to give anything away but things get heated between two of the main characters and it left me laughing at the scandal.

Did Rosalind Ashford do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

She did do a great job giving the characters appropriate accents which helped differentiate between them but I preferred the narrator from Laura's last series.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Oh I would hope it was a television series I would have fun with that. I have no clue what the tag line would be.... I would need to think about it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth it in the end

The story starts really slow but in the end it's worth it. The French accents grew on me

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Painful accents

Story was more romance than historical novel for my taste. The narrator shouldn't attempt accents. The French accents were so strangled that I kept thinking of the old Steve Martin line, "Help him - he's speaking French!". It was too distracting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

At least it was free!

What disappointed you about The Virgin's Daughter?

There's a lot of characters and the reader only has one male and one female voice to spread among them all.

Has The Virgin's Daughter turned you off from other books in this genre?

No this is just an alternative history that isn't very well written. Will give others a chance.

How could the performance have been better?

A second voice actor would help a lot and give some variety.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Loved it!! I love alternate versions of history especially around the Tudor court because there was so much intrigue and drama all around, life could have gone in a multitude of directions.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator needs to bone up on facts.

I've enjoyed the story. Although, the narrator speaking in a Scottish accent for Mary Queen of Scots drove me nuts. Anyone who knows anything about the time period knows that Mary grew up mostly in the French court and it is widely known that she had a FRENCH accent not Scottish. It just really bugged me.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

so disappointed

ugh, the narration! I liiked the first trilogy and was excited to see another, but I couldn't even get halfway through the 1st book, because of the narrator. The horribly tone deaf robotic voice delivers EVERY sentence in the same cadence. It sounds like they took a text to voice app and made it more "sing-song" and make sure to hold on the last syllable of every sentence way too long. Who actually talks like this?! Sure, the book is being read aloud, but it isn't being acted out and you are definitely not being told a story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

It really builds upon the last series and sets up the next book.. but the French accents are rough