Sample
  • The Translocator

  • By: M.G. Herron
  • Narrated by: Tess Irondale
  • Length: 24 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (95 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Translocator  By  cover art

The Translocator

By: M.G. Herron
Narrated by: Tess Irondale
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $39.99

Buy for $39.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

A revolutionary quantum teleportation device promises to bring humanity one step closer to the stars.

Until it fails. Spectacularly.

Archaeologist Eliana Fisk is ripped from Earth while the whole world watches. She lands on a strange new world inhabited by a lost tribe of ancient Mayans. Meeting them, getting firsthand exposure to age-old customs and rituals...it seems like an archaeologist’s dream.

But what if their rituals have a darker meaning? What if the god these people pray to is no god at all? And how in the world will she ever get back home?

Thus begins a pulse-pounding race against time that hurls Eliana into the great unknown, revealing ancient technologies and marvelous mysteries more outlandish than she ever imagined.

The Translocator is an action-packed sci-fi thriller perfect for fans of Stargate, The Atlantis Gene, and other archaeology-inspired science-fiction adventures.

©2018 M.G. Herron (P)2019 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about The Translocator

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Thrilling Sci-fi Ride

I read the first book in the Translocator series, and dove into the second one but never finished. I'm a slow reader, but I can plow through podcasts and audiobooks. I was very excited to revist this world with the new release of all three books combined into an audiobook.

Like the few other of Herron's work's I've read, the Translocator series has a steady diet of influence from various movies and media that's fun to pick up on, but clearly makes this story stand on it's own. The journey starts in the modern real world, but then takes off, and makes no qualms to remind you that this is fiction, and you're going on a fun ride. Rakulo, Eliana, and Amon feel like real people, and it' easy to track along. There's a good balance between action pacing and technical explanation, as often once I find myself asking, "Hey what about," it usually almost immediately answered in the story soon after.

The audiobook is absolutely fantastic. The narrator brings a new level of depth to this story, and seems to have decent range of voices that is very believable. In the first book, she really paints out the use of foreign language so well I was sad there wasn't more of it. To me, listening to the new version really makes me visualize "the Hopper" as it's called and the mystery of Eliana discovering the nature of Kakul.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance