Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $11.20

Buy for $11.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

THE TOYS OF PEACE AND OTHER PAPERS by "Saki" (H. H. Munro) is a collection of 33 "papers" or short stories, which were originally published separately in various journals and later issued in one volume in 1919, three years after the writer's death in the Great War.

They are some of the most delightful of literary miniatures.

They are:

The Toys of Peace
The Disappearance of Chrispina Umberleigh
The Wolves of Cernogratz
The Guests
The Penance
The Phantom Luncheon
A Bread and Butter Miss
Bertie's Christmas Eve
The Interlopers
Quail Seed
The Threat
Excepting Mrs. Pentherby
The Hedgehog
The Mappined Life
The Bull
Shock Tactics
The Seven Cream Jugs
The Occasional Garden
The Sheep
The Oversight
The Image of the Lost Soul
The Purple of the Balkan Kings
The Cupboard of the Yesterdays
For the Duration of the War

Note: A number of these stories are contained in The Best of Saki (three volumes) narrated by Roy Macready.

Public Domain (P)2019 Spiders' House Audio/Roy Macready

What listeners say about The Toys of Peace

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.