• The Third Grave

  • Pierce Reed/Nikki Gillette, Book 4
  • By: Lisa Jackson
  • Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
  • Length: 11 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (428 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Third Grave  By  cover art

The Third Grave

By: Lisa Jackson
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $26.17

Buy for $26.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A thrilling crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johansen! Return to the dark side of Savannah, Georgia where a crime writer and her police detective husband are working a cold case, and hot on the trail of a killer whose work isn’t done.

The old Beaumont mansion is a rotting shell of its once-grand self, especially after a disastrous hurricane sweeps through Georgia. The storm does more than dislodge shutters and shingles. It leads to a grisly find in the cellar. Three graves. But only two skeletons…

For Nikki, the discovery is a gift, the perfect subject for her next crime book—though Reed has made her promise not to keep involving herself in dangerous police business. But despite the increasing tension between them, Nikki can’t stay away from this story. Rumors are widespread that the burial site is the resting place of the Duval sisters—three young girls who went to the movies with their older brother, Owen, twenty years ago, and never returned. Forensics confirms that the remains belong to Holly and Poppy Duval. But where is the youngest sister, Rose?

Owen Duval was, and remains, the prime suspect, alibi or no. But as Nikki and Reed delve deep into the mystery, fractures in the case begin to show. There is more to the sisters’ disappearance than anyone ever guessed. Far from an isolated act, those deaths were just the beginning. And there will be no rest, and no relenting, until the killer has buried the twisted truth along with his victims…

©2021 by Lisa Jackson, LLC. (P)2021 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic reviews

“Narrator Natalie Naudus takes listeners through the twists and turns of a classic Southern mystery.… Naudus handles a cast of battling reporters, police officers with dark secrets, and a family with literal skeletons in their basement. She is careful to give each one a genuinely independent feel. Her narration perfectly matches the pacing and drama of the mystery, which leads to her performance outshining the sometimes predictable story.” (AudioFile Magazine)

“When the skeletal remains of two bodies and what appears to be an empty grave are found in a secret crypt in the cellar of a decaying Savannah, Ga., mansion in best seller Jackson’s workmanlike fourth Pierce Reed/Nikki Gillette novel, police detective Pierce investigates.... Enjoy catching up with Pierce and Nikki.” (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about The Third Grave

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    278
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    250
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Selfish Main Character

The story line and story telling were good. I enjoyed how the mystery unfolds. However, the main character Nicky was to me not very likeable. I found her selfish and no accountability for her actions. I feel sorry for her husband. I have read of plenty books with character reporters. This one just did not sit well with me. Hard to like Nicky. Annoying!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointed

The heroine of this book is hard to like. it was a struggle to finish.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Would not recommend

This was a tough book to get through. The characters were really unlikable, especially the main character, Nikki. She was incredibly selfish…I’m not sure if the author thought she was making her to be “tough” but I found myself just rolling my eyes whenever her part came up. I also had to fast forward through a lot of bits as it was super repetitive.

The actual crime storyline was ok….although was a bit far fetched and I had guessed who it was pretty early on. The narrator was also a bit difficult to listen to, she had a strange inflection that really bothered me and her male voices were pretty bad! I just would skip this book altogether and find something else!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Speed read

This was one of those books that just seemed to drag on and on. I ended up reading the first few chapters and then the last few chapters to see how it wound up. Pretty sure I missed some drawn out angst but not much of the plot.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

Lots of twists and turns and keeps you guessing. Entertaining and suspenseful. Worth the read!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story!

I enjoyed this series. "The Third Grave" may have been my favorite book in the series. You do need to read them in order. Enjoy.
I have other books by Lisa to read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the story

It was an intriguing listen. I skimmed through the comments and surprised to see so much hate directed at Nikki who commenter say is the main character. I would assert that Nikki, Reed & Jade are all main characters and ALL are terribly flawed as people and as book characters. If you enjoy the "people" aspects of books, you will be disappointed with this read.

All of the main characters have a major flaw that they live in (which makes them bad humans) and because each living in that flaw furthers the plot, as book characters they come across as both flat and static (they are not complex and none experience growth through the course of the book).

That aside, the plot was an action-packed "whodunit & why" that was very enjoyable.

***SPOILERS***

NIKKI: a reporter who is selfish & impulsive to an absurd level (fight me all day on this but I maintain she killed no one in opposition to the many commenters who dogpiled this character while refusing to see the flaws in other characters, or worse, holding them up as paragons of virtue).

REED: a detective who is the epitome of toxic masculinity. He is married to a reporter he orders around, belittles, and refuses to give an inch (why on earth did he marry her? because she is pretty ofc); he insists she quit her job to be safe/ become a mom, checks out other women, and at one point thinks about a female reporter who is not his wife, "now there is a reporter I like."

JADE: a detective who is single-mindedly focused on a goal of revenge with no regard for who gets caught in the crossfire of her actions. She is arguably the more complex character, but still rather flat or just not part of a majority of the book.

TLDR: all the main characters are deplorable. If that's not your jam, skip this one. (Think Wuthering Heights-- everyone sucks but the story is still good.)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Possibility

Could have been a great story, but as soon as Nikki was shown as a cold-hearted …..the story was ruined. There was no connection between Nikki and Reed. Nikki always seemed to be the only one who mattered, at least in her mind. Very disappointing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t finish

The selfish dangerous things the main character did were just too much for me. It’s like she just didn’t care about anything but the story and how her actions impact others and that isn’t a main character I wanted to read about. It was more frustrating than enjoyable.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

Loved this book the author is one of my new favorites. I think the reader did great really enjoyed it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!