adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.09

Buy for $30.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A thrilling crime novel from the bestselling author of You Betrayed Me, perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johansen! Return to the dark side of Savanna, Georgia where a crime writer and her detective husband are working a cold case, and hot on the trail of a killer whose work isn’t done.

The old Beaumont mansion is a rotting shell of its once-grand self, especially after a disastrous hurricane sweeps through Georgia. The storm does more than dislodge shutters and shingles. It leads to a grisly find in the cellar. Three graves. But only two skeletons…

For Nikki, the discovery is a gift, the perfect subject for her next crime book - though Reed has made her promise not to keep involving herself in dangerous police business. But despite the increasing tension between them, Nikki can’t stay away from this story. Rumors are widespread that the burial site is the resting place of the Duval sisters - three young girls who went to the movies with their older brother, Owen, twenty years ago, and never returned. Forensics confirms that the remains belong to Holly and Poppy Duval. But where is the youngest sister, Rose?

Owen Duval was, and remains, the prime suspect, alibi or no. But as Nikki and Reed delve deep into the mystery, fractures in the case begin to show. There is more to the sisters’ disappearance than anyone ever guessed. Far from an isolated act, those deaths were just the beginning. And there will be no rest, and no relenting, until the killer has buried the twisted truth along with his victims…

©2021 by Lisa Jackson, LLC. (P)2021 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Narrator Natalie Naudus takes listeners through the twists and turns of a classic Southern mystery.… Naudus handles a cast of battling reporters, police officers with dark secrets, and a family with literal skeletons in their basement. She is careful to give each one a genuinely independent feel. Her narration perfectly matches the pacing and drama of the mystery, which leads to her performance outshining the sometimes predictable story.” (AudioFile Magazine)

“When the skeletal remains of two bodies and what appears to be an empty grave are found in a secret crypt in the cellar of a decaying Savannah, Ga., mansion in best seller Jackson’s workmanlike fourth Pierce Reed/Nikki Gillette novel, police detective Pierce investigates.... Enjoy catching up with Pierce and Nikki.” (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about The Third Grave

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Selfish Main Character

The story line and story telling were good. I enjoyed how the mystery unfolds. However, the main character Nicky was to me not very likeable. I found her selfish and no accountability for her actions. I feel sorry for her husband. I have read of plenty books with character reporters. This one just did not sit well with me. Hard to like Nicky. Annoying!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointed

The heroine of this book is hard to like. it was a struggle to finish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Would not recommend

This was a tough book to get through. The characters were really unlikable, especially the main character, Nikki. She was incredibly selfish…I’m not sure if the author thought she was making her to be “tough” but I found myself just rolling my eyes whenever her part came up. I also had to fast forward through a lot of bits as it was super repetitive.

The actual crime storyline was ok….although was a bit far fetched and I had guessed who it was pretty early on. The narrator was also a bit difficult to listen to, she had a strange inflection that really bothered me and her male voices were pretty bad! I just would skip this book altogether and find something else!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Speed read

This was one of those books that just seemed to drag on and on. I ended up reading the first few chapters and then the last few chapters to see how it wound up. Pretty sure I missed some drawn out angst but not much of the plot.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

the third grave

did not like could not get interested enough to finish hard to understand and follw

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Murder Mystery

Good story but described too many details,but overall a good read.Good plot. A fan of Lisa Jackson.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A-NNOY-ING

Performance was ok, but the main character is so selfish and annoying, I found myself hoping the husband would divorce her. Had to finish the series, but I hope Lisa never writes another one with Nikki in it - terrible narcissist.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nicki Gillette has no fear

Loved it! Figured out who Rose was when she followed Nicki to hotel. Very exciting read!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

The narrator was simply terrible….hard to listen to. In addition, this story was so preposterous and corny. Don’t waste the money.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

decent

worth the listen.... not overly exciting but not bad either. There were def some surprises