Your audiobook is waiting…

The Thing with Feathers

Narrated by: Nora Hunter
Length: 7 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: She's homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she's probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can't swim.

Then Emilie's mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj's to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn't told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she'll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet's advice and "dwell in possibility".

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

©2017 McCall Hoyle (P)2017 Zondervan

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Beautiful Read and Amazing Journey

loved this book and the journey it takes you on. I connected so much with the heroine. I don't have epilepsy but I understand struggling with things outside your control and fighting depression. I especially connected with the hiding of secrets because if they're found out, you won't be seen as "normal" any more.

I really enjoyed how the author took the stereotypes we think are true from movies and twisting them around, making them real people.

Normally I find coming of age stories kind of boring, but this one held me spellbound.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written... & read

Thank you Ms. Hoyle...and Ms. Hunter;
"Hope is [in fact] the thing with feathers."
Highly recommend to others.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT BOOK!!!

Great book!! I'd read it again and again. A total must-read. You'll love it too😉