Your audiobook is waiting…

The Summer Country

A Novel
Narrated by: Nicola Barber
Length: 16 hrs and 21 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (84 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling historical novelist delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet - a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan - merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day. But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados - a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. 

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. 

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins? Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past - a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

A brilliant multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and SouthThe Summer Country will beguile listeners with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds. 

©2019 Lauren Willig (P)2019 HarperAudio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic spellbinding historical novel

This is a great book. Fantastic and spellbinding story. You feel you are living the characters lives with them. Really gives an in depth glimpse of historical Barbados. Narrator does an excellent job!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story, fantastic performance

This is a well written, wonderfully read story. The character development was spot on, and the readers various voices brought the characters to life. I am hoping that there will be a sequel to the story, as the characters still had more to say. Love this book, highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CDRoyall
  • Orange County, CA United States
  • 07-18-19

loved this book

great story and very impressed with the amount of research Laura did to make the history accurate!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Listen

Mystery, twists and turns...who are they ... read and you might find out. Another excellent performance by Nocola Barber. On to
The Secret History of the Pink Carnation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kz
  • 06-14-19

Missed opportunity

Plot was repetitive and book could be shorter
The voice could use development of the accents

2 of 5 people found this review helpful