Your audiobook is waiting…

The Starter Wife

Narrated by: Molly Parker Myers
Length: 7 hrs and 55 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of Girl Last Seen comes "a spine-tingler" (Booklist) of a psychological suspense, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Jessica Knoll.

Local police have announced that they're closing the investigation of the suspected drowning of 37-year-old painter Colleen Westcott. She disappeared on April 11, 2010, and her car was found parked near the waterfront in Cleveland two days later, but her body has never been found. The chief of police has stated that no concrete evidence of foul play has been discovered in the probe.

I close the online search window, annoyed. These articles never have enough detail. They think my husband's first wife disappeared, or they think she is dead. There's a big difference.  

My phone rings, jarring me away from my thoughts, and when I pick it up, it's an unknown number. The only answer to my slightly breathless hello is empty static.  

When the voice does finally come, it's female, low, muffled somehow. "Where is it, Claire? What did you do with it? Tell me where it is." 

A woman. A real flesh-and-blood woman on the other end of the phone. She's not just in my head. 

A wave of panic spreads under my skin like ice water. It's Colleen.

©2019 Nina Laurin (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Laurin knows how to ratchet up the suspense." (Publishers Weekly)

"Laurin, with her knack for psychological suspense, here portrays the effects of obsession in chilling detail as the facts of Claire's life are revealed. A spine-tingler." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

really enjoyed it !!

good book just wish the ending was summed up a little bit better about Colleen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A waste of a credit.

This book was awful. The last part was so very confusing regarding time frame. Don't recommend it to anyone who enjoys a really GOOD mystery.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

Once again, Nina Laurin has written an exceptionally amazing piece! I couldn’t stop listening to this book! It had me at the edge of my seat constantly and the ending was so unexpected! 5 out of 5 stars!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just awful

This is the worst audiobook I have purchased. The story was ridiculous and the writing terrible.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful