• The Silver Dead

  • A Dark Post-Apocalyptic Thriller
  • By: Steven Savile
  • Narrated by: Steve West
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (62 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Silver Dead  By  cover art

The Silver Dead

By: Steven Savile
Narrated by: Steve West
Try for

/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

"Read it before the end of the world!" (Kevin J. Anderson, international best-selling author of the Dune Prequels)

When Temple wakes up in a filthy hotel, he doesn't remember a thing. Not how he got here. Not even his name. Temple just happened to be the first word he read on the bible sitting on the dusty nightstand.

When he discovers that he and all those around him are caught in the apocalyptic hellscape of a collapsing metropolis, he must carefully weigh the balance between charity and self-sacrifice as he sets out into this strange new world.

Grasping at a chance for purpose, he befriends young Nina. Someone to protect from the enumerable dangers and a glimmer of hope in his daunting quest for identity. He quickly learns protection is one of the few things he's made for, demonstrating vicious brutality against savages who seek to prey upon the weak.

Together, they search for anywhere truly safe to call home. A task made all the more impossible as they are chased at every turn by a plague of the shambling, silver-eyed undead.

The Walking Dead meets The Road in this dark post-apocalyptic tale with a supernatural twist, perfect for fans of Michael Crichton and Stephen King.

Now on Audible, narrated by the award-winning Steve West (Scythe, Interstellar Caveman). This book was formerly published under the title Immortal.

©2014 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about The Silver Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deliciously Dark

This caught me by surprise. A very dark Post Apocalyptic story, but in all the best ways! Definitely worth listening to. Steve West brings a certain gravitas to the authors twisted imagination, and it's a perfect combo.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Dark. Haunting. Solid

Savile, I’ve come to realize, is a demented individual that creates harrowing art in his writing. If you’re looking for something Stephen King-esk, you’ve found it. Temple is a great character, but not for any of the reasons I usually think of characters as great. I would highly recommend this for Steve West’s performance alone!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Post apocalyptic /Sin City

This book was Dark and Depressing. book was about Temple trying to find himself. Steve West did a great job with his Character development and really conveyed their emotions. I found the flow of the book really slow and not well developed from one part to the next.
This world reminds me of something Frank Miller would create. Lots of villains that prey on the weak, and a reluctant hero. I did like the ending, but it was dark.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

Like an apocalyptic Pilgrim's Progress

Admittedly, it has been a long time since I have read Pilgrims' Progress. This was a pretty good book. It starts off at a good clip right of the bat and then proceeds to take you on an interesting ride. I was surprised at the end. I look forward to reading more by Steven Savile in the future.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

A Dark and Gripping Tale

This was a dark, gripping, tale that kept me guessing as to where this was going to end. Temple is a fascinating and tragic character and watching him as he tries to get his memories back makes for a thrilling ride. The narration was extremely well done. He had the perfect voice for Temple. This was a particular interesting book to listen to while quarantined at home during the COVID-19 pandemic that is happening in the world right now. Like I said this is a dark story, but it was very much engaging.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book is Creepy!

This book is just simply creepy af! It reminded me of why I'm not very fond of apocalypse/plague stories... but surprisingly, I actually listened to the whole book, and I blame that on Steven Savile's fantastic writing and the marvelous narration by Steve West!
Savile wrote a very compelling main character, Temple, and I found that I became really invested in Temple's future as he searches for his lost memories, or barring that, at least some solace in who he has now become. At first, I tried to guess at the direction the author was taking us, could we be dealing with the 7 deadly sins, or possibly the 4 horsemen of the apocalypse? I eventually gave up trying to guess and just listened. Even as I listened to the last couple of hours, I was unable to fathom how the story would wrap up... and I've got to say, it was a perfect ending to the story!
Altogether, The Silver Dead is a remarkably, tightly written tale, and the narration is absolutely Spot-Effing-On!
Was it creepy? Yes! Was it worth it? Totally!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An Interesting Story

I was given the book by the publisher. Narrator made this story very enjoyable. Characters were distinct and relatable. Post-Apocalyptic is not generally the type of story that I enjoy. This story captured my attention from the first paragraph and held it all the way through the end. At times I thought I was able to predict the way it was going, but I was wrong. I will definitely be looking for more titles from this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

He had nothing left to lose.

He wakes up in a dirty room with no memory, not even his name. Civilization is on the brink of collapse with a plague decimating the population. Brutality abounds. He takes a young girl under his protection, but it may be himself that he's actually trying to save.

The ending reveals the horrifying truth about how and why all this came to be. As shocking as that revelation was, I don't think it would be much of a stretch to see how it could become a desperate reality.

Great story, I couldn't put it down. Excellent narrator, as well.

I received a free copy of this audiobook in exchange for my honest opinion.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story stand alone

This was an above average story and one well worth a credit. I enjoyed this mans journey from not knowing anything about himself to the discovery of who he was and who he became. The.narrator was so good that I am looking for other books he has done. Nice to have a story with an ending.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is not your usual world has ended story!!

I was expecting the world to end and one man to describe his journey of survival. While the story does do this it has twists and turns that make this book so much more fun.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!