Your audiobook is waiting…

The Secret of the Irish Castle

Deverill Chronicles Series, Book 3
Narrated by: Genevieve Swallow
Series: The Deverill Chronicles, Book 3
Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (132 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.

1939: Peace has flourished since the Great War ended, but much has changed for the Deverill family as now a new generation is waiting in the wings to make their mark.

When Martha Wallace leaves her home in America to search for her birth mother in Dublin, she never imagines that she will completely lose her heart to the impossibly charming JP Deverill. But more surprises are in store for her after she discovers that her mother comes from the same place as JP, sealing her fate.

Bridie Doyle, now Countess di Marcantonio and mistress of Castle Deverill, is determined to make the castle she used to work in her home. But just as she begins to feel things are finally going her way, her flamboyant husband Cesare has other ideas. As his eye strays away from his wife, those close to the couple wonder if he really is who he says he is.

Kitty Deverill has come to accept her life with her husband Robert, and their two children. But then Jack O'Leary, the love of her life, returns to Ballinakelly. And this time his heart belongs elsewhere.

As long-held secrets come to light, the Deverills will have to heal old wounds and come to terms with the past if they hope to ensure their legacy for the future.

©2017 Santa Montefiore (P)2018 W.F. Howes

Critic Reviews

“Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.” (Jojo Moyes, number one New York Times best-selling author of Me Before You)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great ending to this Trilogy!

A great saga of the Devrill Family and others. The characters are deep and learning to know them was wonderful. This is a masterpiece in production as well. The reader was fablous!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

I was so sad when I was done. I'll miss the characters and following their lives.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great fun

engaging and entertaining. it pulled together well. it was enjoyable to. take a romp through the lives of tbe characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The secret of the Irish castle

Easy to understand the narrator she has many believable voices for characters.
This is book 3 of an excellent series.
If you listen to this one first it would be possible to follow the story. The book is so exceptional that you’ll want to listen to all them. So may as well start with the first in the series. This book is not overt with gore or sex as some are. I found it captivating and pleasant.
I listened every opportunity because it is a well written historical novel mostly about families connected with a Castle, historic events and community in Ireland.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing third

Really enjoyed parts 1 & 2. Not so much this one. A bit heavy on message and not plot.
And, someone should tell Santa and her fact checkers that Virginia Slims were not around in 1938, having been introduced in 1967