adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.99

Buy for $24.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar - and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile - aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

©2018 Lindsay Emory (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. Recorded by arrangement with Gallery Books, a Division of Simon & Schuster, Inc.

What listeners say about The Royal Runaway

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Save your time for something worth listening to.

I really tried to like this. I actually listened all the way to the end. It was predictable, boring and unimaginative. I could listen to Amanda Ronconi read the phone book but the multiple fake accents made for an uneven narration. I had to return this one.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not my favorite book. hard to follow

struggled to get into it. stopped halfway through. loved the narrator. dry and hard to follow

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't stop listening!

I got this as an Audible book, because of Amanda Ronconi, the narrator. She did a great job with an accent as Thea! I couldn't stop listening as we went on the journey with Thea to find answers. There were so many twists and turns, it was like putting a puzzle together. I highly recommend reading this book if you need a good story to escape into - it has lots of mystery sprinkled with a little romance, but mainly is about a woman learning what she is capable of and where she stands in the world. 5 stars!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

boring!

The only part of this book that was even worth the purchase was the narration by Amanda Ronconi. The rest of the book was excruciatingly Boring.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Story okay, narration TERRIBLE

The book was the sort of light, fluffy thing you might read on a plane or beach, and it was fine by those standards. The narration, however, was terrible. It might not have been so bad if she had just used her native (American or Canadian?) accent, but the fake accents were so distracting it was hard to finish. The Scottish one was particularly painful to hear.

Please, publishers - if you want British accents, hire British voice artists with the local accents you're looking for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sexy, nail biting and pure amazing

This book was so good!!! The back and forth between Thea and Nick is riveting! They are everything a couple should be. Nick is what every man should be- adventuresome, brawny, sexy and protective! He is the perfect match to Thea’s bossiness and boldness! Definitely ready for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun listen!

This book was a fun listen with lots of twists and turns that kept your attention. Narrator was perfect keeping all characters separate and engaging. What a great way to escape the day!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A funny stimulating mystery thriller!

was a very enjoyable listen the narrator what did a great job conveying the different types of characters and comedic timelines throughout the book. The very enjoyable mystery with a little bit of romance turn in!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorite books on Audible

The story is captivating and well written. Then narrator is fantastic. I would highly recommend this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun Read!

This was a fun story to read. It was light and humorous. A great beach read!