Your audiobook is waiting…

The Risk of Us

Narrated by: Susan Bennett
Length: 5 hrs and 31 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A poignant, dazzling debut novel about a woman who longs to be a mother and the captivating yet troubled child she and her husband take in. 

What is the cost of motherhood? 

When The Risk of Us opens, we meet a 40-something woman who deeply wants to become a mother. The path that opens up to her and her husband takes them through the foster care system, with the goal of adoption. And when seven-year-old Maresa - with inch-deep dimples and a voice that can beam to the moon - comes into their lives, their hearts fill with love. But her rages and troubles threaten to crack open their marriage. 

Over the course of a year, as Maresa approaches the age at which children become nearly impossible to place, the couple must decide if they can be the parents this child needs and finalize the adoption - or give her up. 

For fans of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk, The Risk of Us deftly explores the inevitable tests children bring to a marriage, the uncertainties of family life, and the ways true empathy obliterates our defenses.

©2019 Rachel Howard (P)2019 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible journey

I loved the story the rawness in the journey for this family and this child. You truly got it right as a clinical social worker working with children with complex trauma and families who have struggled I was quite captivated by this story.

Great work!