Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Cold War is in its twilight hour. But Soviet spymasters have one final plan to defeat America.

After Eduardo “Atcho” Xiquez’s daughter is taken hostage by Russian operatives, the former West Point graduate is forced to become a KGB sleeper agent. If he resists, his daughter will be killed.

His handlers have orchestrated Atcho’s rise into the elite social circles of Washington DC. There, he must navigate a labyrinth of conspiracy and betrayal. Spying for a nation he despises. All the while, secretly working to turn the tables on his KGB masters.

But when the KGB commands him to assassinate a head of state, he is forced to make an impossible choice: save his daughter...or ignite the next World War.

Perfect for fans of Daniel Silva, W.E.B. Griffin, and Ken Follett.

Praise for the book:

"Splendid! Damned fine read. A real page-turner." (Joe Galloway, NYT best-selling author of We Were Soldiers Once...and Young)

©2019 Severn River Publishing (P)2020 Severn River Publishing

What listeners say about The Reluctant Assassin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good book

The story was very good. It had credible connection to historical events, and the main character was good. The story was very well narrated by Drew Bott. I enjoyed listening to it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend!

Listened to the entire book while driving over the weekend. Really enjoyed the story as well as the narration. I would highly recomend this book to anyone.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Finished with a bang

Overall, good story. Little slow at first but author is setting the stage....comes together later in the book. The main character could have had an accent-unsure if author wanted him without accent for reading (?). Does have some unexpected twists and turns. Looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Caught my attention.

This book was great. Really enjoyed the everything about this book. Recommend this book to everyone.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A daydream of an American Dad

great narrator! a little bit of interesting accents at times but he did a good job of keeping characters distinct and following dialogue. I'd love to see him read a book set in Germany, I think he'd easily be a 5 star narrator for that setting. the story itself is pretty rough. it feels like it was written by the author for the author and not for a larger audience. If you're a working Dad over 50 you'll probably love this book because that's the group I imagine the author is in. Protective father elements and the book had pieces of good writing in it, however, the story felt disjointed and jumpy. I have to admit there were a few times that the book surprised me, but for the most part it was easily predictable with many standard cliches. I would also have liked to dig in more to the historical side of things, it felt like the book wanted to teach you about history but then reminded you that it was just set in the near past and not meant to dig into real historical details. the authors opinions come through as you're reading as the writing is very transparent. it often feels like I'm being told the story instead of shown or put into the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t put it down!

I loved this book! I started reading yesterday and am already finished wishing there was more! The story was interesting and mixed with the history made it even better. I can’t wait for the next book by Lee Jackson