• The Red Palace

  • By: June Hur
  • Narrated by: Michelle H. Lee
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (71 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Red Palace  By  cover art

The Red Palace

By: June Hur
Narrated by: Michelle H. Lee
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace - a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood....

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, 18-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father's approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon's closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher's innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.

©2022 June Hur (P)2022 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Red Palace

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

This book was refreshing to listen to. I was born in Korea and watched k-dramas, including Korean historical dramas most of my life. Most of the dramas and histories that I watched and learned as a child, they focused on glorified kings and princes. But this book was refreshing because it did not portray the prince as a hero nor a god-like figure. He was a flawed individual who needed help including his father’s love which he never gets. I especially appreciated the author’s comment at the very end of the book. The connection between the two main characters were lovely and the ending was fitting coming from Korean historical fiction. The writing was smooth and it flowed well. The narrator’s voice was perfect fit for this book. Her voice was calm, gentle, and yet strong. This was a really good read!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyed

I really like the story. it was well written & the narrator did an awesome job.
I think the ending was a little rushed, but still very good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling historical mystery

Simply incredible historical mystery set in Korea’s Joseon dynasty in the 1750s. The main character is a palace nurse, the daughter of a rejected concubine and a lord who will not claim her. She’d worked her way to the highest possible position a woman of her status can achieve, then her fellow nurses are murdered and her mentor is blamed. The palace is dangerous, the city isn’t much better, and then there’s a young police inspector who listens to her, hides and helps her. Stronger together, they’ll risk everything to learn the truth. It’s gripping, beautiful, clever, detailed, heart-breaking, and swoon-worthy. Highly, highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Keep Me On The Edge Of My Seat!

I enjoy listening to this book. It was fascinating to learn of the culture. The main character is courageous. I love that June makes the main character a female and writes from her view. Love, love this book. I can hardly wait for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you love K-drama, this is for you.

Loved it. Just like listening to a historical k-drama. Well performed and very engrossing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting History, but Ultimately a YA Romance

I didn't especially enjoy this book, but I'm not sure why. It takes place in 18th century Korea and the protagonist is an 18 year old palace nurse. That aspect of the story interests me very much as I didn't realize there were nurses in 18th century Korea or that they played such a vital roll.

This novel is a murder mystery/young adult romance. The romance seemed to me more of a focus than the murder mystery. To me it was distracting and I began to lose interest in who the murderer was and why. This is not a poorly written book, it's just not my usual genre. I steer away from romance novels. I think it would be a good read though for young adults. Aside from the somewhat graphic descriptions of the murders (by sword), there is nothing inappropriate.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna Loughlin
  • Anna Loughlin
  • 02-13-22

Spellbinding. I have a book hangover.

Dreamy, atmospheric prose gently unfolds a compelling plot. So sad that I'm finished it!