Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Discover and rediscover the world of the Queen's Thief, from the acclaimed series launch The Thief to the thrilling, 20-years-in-the-making conclusion, The Return of the Thief.

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia's palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award.

©2000 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Readers will be spellbound." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her - and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next." ( Publishers Weekly)
"[An] intense read...thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts." ( The Horn Book)

What listeners say about The Queen of Attolia

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    431
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    410
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    405
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Long live the queens!

The queens of Eddis and Attolia were both minor princesses not intended for the thrones of their countries. But their royal experiences are completely different. Eddis is stable, but Attolia's barons are chronically rebellious.

Queen Attolia has sworn that the next king will be her personal choice, no matter what her barons say. Two other countries are eager to exploit the barons' disloyalty, eager enough to bankroll rebellions. Determined to safeguard her throne, Attolia has acquired a reputation for ruthlessness.

For Queen Eddis, nothing is more dangerous than Attolia's instability. King Sunis wants to marry Eddis, but the queen and her nobles oppose the marriage as he is not a man to be trusted. Her refusal angers Sunis into seeking an excuse for war. With an unstable Attolia on her other border, Eddis could easily fall into a bloody two-front war.

Both countries need an ally, but allies are in short supply. Even if an ally Is available, the price of an alliance is a marriage in a world where the king outranks the queen.

Is there any way for either queen to ensure the freedom of her country without losing her own sovereignty?

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great narrator

Steve West does a great job portraying Eugenides' emotions. Glad this is finally on audio!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfectly crafted story, flawless performance

A gorgeous stand alone follow up to The Thief. The story is crafted with tight language and rich in subtext. You'll want to immediately re-read to figure out how Megan Whalen Turner did it!
Steve West's performance is perfect and enriched

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Emotions are hard

Megan Whalen Turner is a great writer. That is to say that her diction and descriptive skills are great. Her storytelling, on the other hand, is abysmal! It comes down to tedious over-description, lack of rising action, unbelievability, and INCONSISTENCY. Take the main protagonist for example: Who is Gen? Is he a skilled thief, or a lucky one? Is he witty and confident, or dumb and cowardly? Disabled and hopeless, or suddenly, inexplicably adept? A too young emotional child, or a romantic? I could go on. MWT writes as though she doesn't understand human emotions or thoughts, and thus ALL of her characters seem to have multiple personalities that shift drastically to suit the story's progression. It's not character development, it's discontinuity that an editor should have corrected.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The political machinations and cons continue!

I debated listening to this after listening to the first one, but I'm really glad I did. The plot thickens and the schemes of Eugenides, Eddis, and Attoliah are at once complex and practical without being too obtuse to follow. Some have criticized the series for being boring and predictable, but I have found it to be meticulous and layered, quite an amazing accomplishment for a YA series, given the target audience. The brutalities and exigencies of ancient rule are set forth as almost a primer of the harsh necessities of political and national survival, while simultaneously contrasting the different characters of the regimes of Eddis and Attoliah and the strength embodied by their two queens. Maybe I'm simple, but the twists and turns and surprises work for me as well--I'm not listening to this looking for a John LeCarre novel but for entertainment and it is quite satisfying.

I have warmed up to the narrator, as well, whom I did not entirely enjoy in the first book, but he has found his voice and injected more personality into this book. I am looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An all time favorite

The Queen of Attolia is and has been one of my favorite books of all time. I devoured it when I first picked it up (not realizing it was a sequel, and enjoying it immensely despite having not read “The Thief” at the time). I have in the years since then revisited the story many times—both in print, in the previous audio recording, and in this new audio edition. The story continues to amaze me—always making me feel a roller coaster of emotions at the characters plights, and awe at Turner’s craft. I feel I appreciate something new about it every time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an all time favorite.

I have been reading this series since it began and it is still my favorite. I've worn out two copies of thief and queen! the audibles do not disappoint!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great narration to a much loved story

I’ve always loved this series. The narration was really well done. I will be adding the next book to my library.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

classic must listen to story

This is such a good adventure story that it gives me so much joy and makes me feel like a kid again and I even appreciate it because of the adult topics.

the characters are chefs kiss. very likeable characters you cant help but root for!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Blown Away

As I continue to work through the Queen's Thief series, I am blown away by the world creation and narration style of Turner. I found the first book a little challenging to get into because I was often confused, but book two was a treasure hunt as I tried to figure out what Turner was doing with the plot and characters and where there might be a big reveal. I wasn't good at guessing, but it was wonderful.