adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Polly’s not looking for ‘the one’, just the plus one....

The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a wedding or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none

Polly Spencer is fine. She’s single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she’s fine. Even if she’s still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend’s summer wedding are looking worryingly slim.

But it’s a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly’s determined that over the next 365 days she’ll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor ‘the one’. She’s heard the stories, there’s no way she’ll succumb to his charms…

A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper.

©2019 Sophia Money-Coutts (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"The Plus One by Sophia Money-Coutts is so funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun! A funny first novel where class and sex are back!" (Jilly Cooper)

"Perfectly jolly chick-lit...A light, fizzy rom-com to kick back with after a bottle of rosé this summer." (Evening Standard)

"Howlingly funny." (Sunday Times)

What listeners say about The Plus One

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I enjoy reading Sophia Money-Coutts, except ...

... the graphic and gratuitous sex scenes. Really? I don't want to be party to Money-Coutts' fantasies - especially when described in her own voice. No. Just - no. Also, her narration is an acquired taste. However, all told, she's a clever writer and I enjoy her books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So much writing, so many story lines,

Spoiler alert: I had high hopes. It started so well. I plodded on, waiting for the big moment when the story might take a creative curve. It never did. And the ending, tied with a nice pretty bow, was banal.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect..

This first rom-com from this author is spot on .. If you loved Sophie Kinsella’s older works such as “Remeber Me” and “undomestic Godess” and “can you keep a secret” add spice and you will love this.(I can’t even finish one of the shopoholic books)
I am super picky in what I waste my listening time on.. it has to relax and enthrall me.. if not I immediately give up.
I am the kind of consumer that rather re-listen or re-watch a known title (book, movie, series) than dive in to a new adventure.
I so love the fast pace of the author’s narration and her witty changes of pace and the writing is natural and extremely funny at times to the point of laughing out loud. I love intelligent dialogue, un-fake characters and a good storyline.
You won’t be disappointed if you are a half intelligent busy person with a good sense of humor. Sometimes graphic but fun descriptions of the sex life never hurts in my book..
Enjoy and thank you!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pretty weak story

Honestly, I loved the other two books I’ve read by this author, so I was really looking forward to this one too. Unfortunately it was just not that good. It had a lot of potential, but it was incredibly predictable and she just didn’t develop the characters very well. Sadly, wish I hadn’t wasted my time on this one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too much happening in one story

I felt that this book meandered a lot. I found myself wondering “why does this matter to the story?” with almost every little thing that happened.

The plot seemed really unfocused to me, so it was hard to care about a lot of the characters and what they were going through.

I do like the author’s witty turns of phrase and unique descriptions, and I think she’s an excellent reader. That said, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing another book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Silly girl book

The ending is typical, but I enjoyed the story. Easy to listen to on road trips.