Your audiobook is waiting…

The Oracle Year

A Novel
Narrated by: Charlie Thurston
Length: 12 hrs and 8 mins
4 out of 5 stars (338 ratings)
Regular price: $30.79
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From best-selling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a 20-something New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future - perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded website with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the president of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site - as it's come to be called - and the best man hunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust - including a beautiful journalist - it's all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes listeners on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.

©2018 Charles Soule (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Charlie Thurston carefully leads the listener down the story's path with subtle intonations suggesting that our hero is never quite sure he is doing the right thing....  From the author of Marvel comic series such as Daredevil and She-Hulk, this is outstanding work that challenges the listener's idea of right and wrong." (AudioFile)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    124
  • 4 Stars
    101
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Wish it were more

I was excited about this, because it was highly rated through the "book of the month" club. . I kept waiting for this book to get better, but if anything, it just got worse. Predictable, one dimensional characters. Also dragged on way longer than it needed to. I thought the pacing was terrible. I would not recommend using a credit for this, maybe check out at your local library. Left unsatisfied and disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

What would you do if you knew

A very interesting premise - what happens when you know 108 facts about the future? The story follows this problem that Will Dando has. It does it in a compelling manner and always entertaining. The suspense is solid and the conclusions are logical. The knowing of the future doesn't make you an oracle - only telling someone does.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Oh so good!

Cryptic from the beginning, I was hooked from page one. Definitely a good story. Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fresh fun story

I loved the intrigue, pace and story line. it could've used a bit more character development.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story!!!

I've been a big fan of Charles comics for a while now and he did not disappoint changing over to a novel.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The hero is a baffoon

The hero in this book is detestable. He's whiny, inconsiderate, greedy, and careless. He needlessly puts his friends' lives at risk. We know almost nothing about him and have little reason to care about him to begin with, but as we learn about his demeanor we find that there's little to like.

So, there's not much to root for in this book. The premise was very interesting. The execution was bad. Pass on this one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

interesting but weak ending

it was an interesting, somewhat predictable story. The ending could have been stronger. Overall, can't beat it up too bad.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly good

The first chapter is shit (and maybe the ending a little cliche), but the rest of the book is much better than I expected, to be honest.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story Line That Kept Me Guessing

The novel had a slower start for me trying to figure out the significance of the information that you have been given but that really resonates with the character and his same situation of having information but not knowing its significance or how he was to use it. This book kept me guessing on an overall plot line but also kept me entertained with in the smaller individual characters story lines.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

This book was given to me by my best friend and I was skeptical about it. I was very pleasantly surprised when I read it. The story had me from the beginning and it made me make time to finish it as quickly as possible. It was a great story from beginning to end with no lag at any point.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JamieN
  • 10-10-18

A gripping story.

I really enjoyed this. The Oracle Year has a great premise that of a young guy mysteriously receiving 108 predictions about the future that start to become true. And the storytelling holds up to the interesting premise. We're genuinely sucked into the the lives and story of the characters and the pace of the storytelling compels you to want to discover more of the fate of 'The Oracle' and how things play out.
It's great to discover a story that has such a different premise to everything else out there. Charles Soule's style gives the story a great pace and supports the suspension of disbelief perfectly in a gripping adventure.
The reading of the story only grated on me in parts. I'm not a fan of some of the voices put on by the narrator but that's more a personal preference and I know it helps to identify the characters speaking. But the breathy voice whenever a woman is talking and the hilarious Dick Van Dyke-esk British sailor accent took the edge off the overall performance.
Knowing Charles as a comics writer some of these comic storytelling elements snuck in early on in the story. It's easy to slip into exposition via the characters speech. When you have the breathing space in a novel you can just to explain this to the reader and render the dialogue more natural, but this only occurs a couple of times early on. I didn't notice it so much later.
I'll totally be recommending this book and look forward to discovering more of the the writers work.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gavin Jones
  • 09-21-18

If I Could See The Future

If I could see the future I probably wouldn't have finished this book because although it starts very well it's downhill from about two hours in.

Let me make my own prediction. You WILL be disappointed by the ending.