• The Night Shift

  • Sam Pope Series
  • By: Robert Enright
  • Narrated by: Lee Beddow
  • Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

Pick 1 title (2 titles for Prime members) from our collection of bestsellers and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
Your Premium Plus plan will continue for $14.95 a month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Night Shift  By  cover art

The Night Shift

By: Robert Enright
Narrated by: Lee Beddow
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.35

Buy for $17.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Amazon number one best seller.

A terrorist attack. A rogue soldier. A relentless hunt for the truth.

Sam Pope was one of the UK’s finest soldiers, serving over a decade as an elite sniper. After a near fatal shooting brings an end to his career, Sam returns home to his family and a potential new career in the Metropolitan Police. When disaster strikes and his bond with his family is broken, Sam takes a job as an archive officer within the Met, hunting down criminals that have beaten the system and delivering his own brand of justice.

When a terrorist attack at the London Marathon shakes the city to its core, Sam decides to open his own line of investigation. Venturing into the world of organized crime and police corruption, Sam soon finds himself as the number one target...and faces a race against time to expose the truth.

Fans of Lee Child, Mark Dawson, Robert Ludlum, and Vince Flynn who are looking for their next action hero, will be thrilled by The Night Shift, the first book in the Amazon number one best-selling series.

Get your copy and join the best-selling series. The fight awaits...

©2018 Robert Enright (P)2020 Robert Enright

What listeners say about The Night Shift

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First Rate Action

Sam Pope is a broken man living to sooth the wounds in his heart and mind. This first book is an excellent introduction to his world as he tries to "clean up" after the broken justice (UK) system. Lots of action of the sort that requires a strong stomach, but very good nonetheless. Can't wait to get into book2 which I've already purchased!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

vigilantes

The punisher, Paul Kersey, orphan x, all the heroes who continue to fascinate and entertain us

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good listen. wish it were longer.

This was a good engaging story. I will be listening to more of the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JohnC
  • JohnC
  • 11-16-21

Good story

A good story, however a few inaccuracies which “bugged” me
UK. Judges do not use a gavel, and people in the UK are represented in court by a solicitor or Barrister rather than a Lawyer
the receptacle that holds the rounds in a handgun is called a Magazine rather than a cartridge, the actual casing surrounding the bullet is usually made of Brass rather than copper
A little more accurate research would have improved the story for me

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-21-23

Great listening

couldn't stop listening to it love listen to the Jack Widow
series and this is as good as if not better then them
five stars from me

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stantz
  • Stantz
  • 12-27-22

Enjoyably British Action Hero.

I'm a huge Jack Reacher fan and was made aware of the Sam Pope series through recommendations from friends.
This is the first Sam Pope series novel I've listened too. I enjoyed it!
Not sure on the narration, took a bit of getting used to, but it was OK.

The story itself flowed well, and the action and details of the scenes described was fantastically gruesome at times, but nothing seemed that far fetched or 'James Bondish'

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lez
  • Lez
  • 12-01-22

Sam Pope

I enjoyed the story that much that I am moving onto the next book now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GARRY SPELLAR
  • GARRY SPELLAR
  • 10-14-22

Thumbs up

I enjoyed this book, looking forward to the next one in the series .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Starkey
  • Paul Starkey
  • 07-22-21

amazing listen

Everything about this book is fantastic. Gripped from the very start I will be listening to all the sam Pope books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-03-21

Fantastic

Absolutely fantastic.
Gripping book with a great storyline, loved every minute and really can’t wait to listen to the next book.