Your audiobook is waiting…

The Night Olivia Fell

Narrated by: Kelly Burke, Laurel Lefkow
Length: 10 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (135 ratings)
Regular price: $18.89
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain-dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: Her teenage daughter, Olivia, has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain-dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heart-wrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: How well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?

©2019 Christina McDonald (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unfulfilled potential

The plot synopsis was intriguing, but the author just didn't make it work. Totally predictable, not one sympathetic character (everyone is either lying or keeping secrets). And the narrators do not help, especially the reader for Abi. Pass on this one.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

interesting story line

I liked this book from the start. Suspenseful, interesting characters and the back & forth chapters worked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Such a heartbreaking story full of love and deceit. I could relate to both main characters. I couldn’t wait to see what happened. Such a powerful story with a touching ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 03-23-19

Very Well Written, Story Sucks You In

The Night Olivia Fell was a very pleasant surprise. The book itself is about a depressing issue, but the reader has natural empathy for the characters and we are sucked in from beginning to end.

A young girl has mysteriously fallen and she's brain dead. However, when mom arrives to the hospital in a panic to see if her daughter's alright, she finds out that the tragic fall is only part of the shock. The other shocking news is, she's pregnant. The doctors explain that they have to keep her daughter on life support until the baby is ready to be born.

While her daughter lays as a human incubator, her mother believes that her 'accident' was no accident at all. Frustrating with the way the police are handling it, Mom decides to play detective to see what happened on the night her daughter fell, and what lead up to it.

I was hooked from beginning to end. The story has an excellent flow and it's beautifully narrated.

Four solid stars

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved, loved, loved

Excellent story, read perfectly! I highly recommend! Love, mystery, tears, and hope! A great story that I immensely enjoyed!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story, but narrated by a robot

Really good listen, but the narrator for Abby could have been a robot. Honestly, she was so bad it was distracting and definitely took something away from what should have been a great story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator has a hard on for the letter T

There was potential with this book, but I feel like there were so many under developed sub plots - and nothing was really woven together for impact.

I could be wrong as I may have been focusing more on the narration than the plot. The narrator read it as if it were her final exam for her Voice and Diction doctorate. It was sooooo distracting.

I would find myself listening for consonants. You would be amazed how often the letter T pops up. And this narrator lives to drop the T bomb.