adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You live with her. You trust her. But you don’t know her....

Wanted: full-time, live-in help for expectant mother. Must be organized, friendly, and willing to do anything.

Rachel is determined to be the perfect mother. She has a birth plan, with a playlist and a bag ready by the door. She’s chosen a lovely light cream paint for the nursery, and in wide-eyed, innocent Abbie she’s found the perfect person to help her with her baby.

Because every mother needs a bit of help, don’t they?

But Rachel needs a little more than most.

She still makes sure her bedroom door is locked before she goes to sleep. She still checks the cameras that are dotted throughout the house.

Rachel trusts Abbie.

She just knows better than to trust herself....

From the best-selling author of Her Husband’s Lover, this is a truly gripping story about how far people will go to find a family. Filled with tension and twists, it is perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari LaPena, and The Girl on the Train.

©2021 Julia Crouch (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The New Mother

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea Spencer
  • Andrea Spencer
  • 11-17-21

gripping

Brilliantly written and read. Couldn't stop listening. Best audio I've had for a while. Lots of twists and turns.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Rayner, author
  • Sarah Rayner, author
  • 12-18-21

A rollicking good listen

A rollicking good listen on Audible, with a touch of ‘Whatever Happened to Baby Jane’ for me (and that is high praise indeed). The New Mother was deliciously OTT and melodramatic, and just what I needed to take myself out of the gloom that is the run up to another Covid Christmas. The narrator ladles on the warped behaviours of the protagonists (she has a slightly weird way of emphasising every fifth word or so, just to ensure we listeners miss no nuance) but in the end I decided I rather enjoyed her method, as it suited the maniacal rivalry at the heart of the novel. The story builds and grows more sinister, and the end I was tempted to cancel all my social media accounts as they seemed destined to result in my mouth being gaffer taped shut, but then I decided that along with cancelling all parties and family gatherings, that would be a step too far. Keep up the good work Julia, you’re a great storyteller.

Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for miss
  • miss
  • 12-10-21

Gripping. Immersive read.

I love a page turner that’s current. This book does social media well and explores the dangers of insta v reality and the impact that has on everyone involved.
Fast moving and a winding story.
Enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-08-22

So dull had to abandon

The story is not gripping. Not really sure which character is the protagonist, lots of boring twitter/Instagram vegan references. Tried to persevere but couldnt

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dog Walker  Sussex
  • Dog Walker Sussex
  • 11-28-21

Not for me

Far too much social media , hashtag etc etc. I struggled along for an hour then gave up!..

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-03-22

Very Slow

I kept hoping this would pick up but it disappointed and it was a struggle to finish.