Regular price: $29.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Three complete novels. Almost 1,000 pages of lighting-paced action. 

Anyone who is a fan of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, David Weber will love Jack L. Knapp. And they do. Thousands of copies have been downloaded. This is science-fiction at its best - future engineering, intrigue, first contact....It’s a space opera like none you’ve experienced before. The audiobooks will keep you listening late into the night - you won't be able to stop!

Audiobook 1: The Ship 

Building a spaceship that uses Nicola Tesla's revolutionary space drive is only the beginning. From a new industrial revolution to the brink of global war, restless humanity presses onward, eventually to the first contact with an alien species. 

There will be changes...if we survive.

Fans of Carl Sagan, Arthur C. Clarke, and Jerry Pournelle will love this hard SF series. 

"Readers who like their socket wrenches properly used will love this" - T. Jackson King

"Interesting approach combining near future with imaginative science" - Amazon Customer

"A real 'hard' science fiction novel. Jack Knapp continues to write a good story. I love that his editing is also superb. No more errors than I’d find in a professionally published book." - Ronald Q. Smith

Audiobook 2: NFI 

New Frontiers, Inc, is leading the drive to conquer space. Overcoming opposition from powerful and jealous nations is only the beginning. What of the alien society that left those mysterious beacons in the asteroid belt? They’re still here, and they’re not happy....

If you liked John Ringo’s Troy Rising trilogy, you’ll enjoy Jack Knapp’s New Frontiers series.

Much more action, skullduggery, etc. Plenty of new tech, lots of spying, and back door deals. We may be on the eve of WWIII.

Audiobook 3: NEO

World War III is about to break out. As if that wasn’t dangerous enough, the enigmatic extraterrestrials called the Flickers have returned with a warning: do not venture beyond the moon. Faced with the ultimate threat, can humanity put aside their differences and unite to face the common danger?

Fans of Robert A. Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and David Weber will enjoy this series.

"...a page turner...I was up most of the night." - Blair Howard

"A well written book and a great series that grabs your attention and holds it" - CB

"It’s such a rare event that a story captures my attention so well that I forget to eat and sleep. The author really understands Geopolitics and human nature" - Kindle Scotty 

©2016-present Jack L Knapp (P)2018 Jack L Knapp

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    14

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Something almost happens then nothing.

Hate this story line, builds you up to something happening then "A BIG NOTHING", it does this throughout the whole story. The reading was OK but the books are not what they could have been.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • norman
  • burlington, nc, United States
  • 06-27-18

Science Fiction of the near future

A good science fiction series of the near future. The first book is sort of slow, but the next two books were much better.This series would probably be enjoyed by fans of Arthur C Clarke or Ben Bova. I thought the narrator, Tom Lennon, did an excellent job with the voices, both male and female.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Knapp make it all seem real

This is not one of those Si-Fi things filled with incredible things that almost make your eyes roll back.

Very detailed technically so it all seems plausible.

Not much of a story really, it is all about the science really.

Very enjoyable and a lot for the money.

Will get the next in the series. Now that we have first contact, want to know more bout it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another winner by Jack Knapp

I really enjoyed Jack Knapp's Darwin's World series so when I saw this I had to try it.

This is just as good, maybe better. They do need to fix the audio in the beginning of Chapter 24 where a few sentences are repeated. Other than that however the production is fine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Detail - Everything seems real

First - over 32 hours for one credit is a great bargain. Each of these three books is a full length novel.

The stories starts with Tesla's theories about propulsion and finally ends with first encounter. Reads like a history, except it hasn't happened - yet.

The audio was fine. Either they fixed it or I am less picky than some others. Truly enjoyed this and will be buying the next installment when available.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I highly recomend

The narrator is fantastic, the story is marvelous.
A well thought out, believable adventure story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series

Great Cliff hanger to get you to buy #4. We will actually get to meet the aliens in that one.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

a story with promise that fell flat

I like John Ringo and all of his books and I'm a heavy sci-fi fan. This book have promised and had a good overall Story the problem is and it's delivery and the way the story was written as an audiobook. The way the story is presented makes me feel like my grandfather is talking about how corn is growing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Suffers from Production Issues

Performance (2.5/5) (It's Okay)

Okay the voice of the narrator is not for me but this is not why this performance is getting 2 stars. This audio book is marred with production issues, the most egregious being that the near the end of the first book there is a bunch of editing artifacts that someone forgot to remove and it is very annoying. Imagine having to listen to a couple of pages of the narrator repeating the same line 2x for example "Jack went out to build a spaceship" "Editing artifact sound" "Jack went out to build a spaceship". The voice takes some getting used to but I did listen to the whole audio book, I have a high tolerance for a different narrators.

Story (3.5/5)

I gave this a 4* because I am a fan of these types of book. Those which focus on building, space ship exploration and technological advancement. Those elements are all in this book and I really enjoyed them. Its all the other things in this book that made wince inside a lot and the authors obsession with the Balance of Payments. The Science stuff (great) - the non-science stuff (Politics / Economics / Business Intelligence/ ...) is wince worthy.

Is it worth a credit? In its current state no - if the production issues were solved and you enjoy this type of book then sure.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I tried, but the story is too simple to keep me engaged

This would be a great book for young readers/listeners For an adult it might be just a bit over explained at times.

I tried, I really did, it just did keep my attention.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ross
  • 10-16-18

Good story, iffy narrator

I enjoy the book, but the narration was poor, especially Australian accents. Once you get over this it’s a good listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rodney A.
  • 06-02-18

Great story - worst narrator ever

Good story - ruined by a narrator that cannot create character differentiation in their voice. First book has several sections where you can hear him re-recording due to mistakes (seems Russian voices were difficult to do)

worth listening to but please do not ever get this person to read another book - unless its main character is Elma Fudd...