Regular price: $29.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Three complete novels. Almost 1,000 pages of lighting-paced action. 

Anyone who is a fan of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, David Weber will love Jack L. Knapp. And they do. Thousands of copies have been downloaded. This is science-fiction at its best - future engineering, intrigue, first contact....It’s a space opera like none you’ve experienced before. The audiobooks will keep you listening late into the night - you won't be able to stop!

Audiobook 1: The Ship 

Building a spaceship that uses Nicola Tesla's revolutionary space drive is only the beginning. From a new industrial revolution to the brink of global war, restless humanity presses onward, eventually to the first contact with an alien species. 

There will be changes...if we survive.

Fans of Carl Sagan, Arthur C. Clarke, and Jerry Pournelle will love this hard SF series. 

"Readers who like their socket wrenches properly used will love this" - T. Jackson King

"Interesting approach combining near future with imaginative science" - Amazon Customer

"A real 'hard' science fiction novel. Jack Knapp continues to write a good story. I love that his editing is also superb. No more errors than I’d find in a professionally published book." - Ronald Q. Smith

Audiobook 2: NFI 

New Frontiers, Inc, is leading the drive to conquer space. Overcoming opposition from powerful and jealous nations is only the beginning. What of the alien society that left those mysterious beacons in the asteroid belt? They’re still here, and they’re not happy....

If you liked John Ringo’s Troy Rising trilogy, you’ll enjoy Jack Knapp’s New Frontiers series.

Much more action, skullduggery, etc. Plenty of new tech, lots of spying, and back door deals. We may be on the eve of WWIII.

Audiobook 3: NEO

World War III is about to break out. As if that wasn’t dangerous enough, the enigmatic extraterrestrials called the Flickers have returned with a warning: do not venture beyond the moon. Faced with the ultimate threat, can humanity put aside their differences and unite to face the common danger?

Fans of Robert A. Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and David Weber will enjoy this series.

"...a page turner...I was up most of the night." - Blair Howard

"A well written book and a great series that grabs your attention and holds it" - CB

"It’s such a rare event that a story captures my attention so well that I forget to eat and sleep. The author really understands Geopolitics and human nature" - Kindle Scotty 

©2016-present Jack L Knapp (P)2018 Jack L Knapp

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    17

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    12
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Something almost happens then nothing.

Hate this story line, builds you up to something happening then "A BIG NOTHING", it does this throughout the whole story. The reading was OK but the books are not what they could have been.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Knapp make it all seem real

This is not one of those Si-Fi things filled with incredible things that almost make your eyes roll back.

Very detailed technically so it all seems plausible.

Not much of a story really, it is all about the science really.

Very enjoyable and a lot for the money.

Will get the next in the series. Now that we have first contact, want to know more bout it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • norman
  • burlington, nc, United States
  • 06-27-18

Science Fiction of the near future

A good science fiction series of the near future. The first book is sort of slow, but the next two books were much better.This series would probably be enjoyed by fans of Arthur C Clarke or Ben Bova. I thought the narrator, Tom Lennon, did an excellent job with the voices, both male and female.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • PB
  • Atlanta
  • 11-19-18

Infodump, the pseudoscience.

I gave this book EIGHT HOURS to get good. Eight. That's probably most of the first book in the boxed set. Not sure exactly because it's not really going anywhere. The majority of the "story" is pseudoscience technobable. The few times when something actually interesting might be happening it gets mentioned as something that will be happening soon...then we hear about the aftermath. For no sane reason the author put all the interesting parts off-screen, and all the boring parts on screen in exhaustive detail. If I hadn't bought this three months ago and left it in my library before reading it, I would be returning it now. One thing's for sure; I am NEVER buying another book by Jack L Knapp.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I highly recomend

The narrator is fantastic, the story is marvelous.
A well thought out, believable adventure story.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another winner by Jack Knapp

I really enjoyed Jack Knapp's Darwin's World series so when I saw this I had to try it.

This is just as good, maybe better. They do need to fix the audio in the beginning of Chapter 24 where a few sentences are repeated. Other than that however the production is fine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Detail - Everything seems real

First - over 32 hours for one credit is a great bargain. Each of these three books is a full length novel.

The stories starts with Tesla's theories about propulsion and finally ends with first encounter. Reads like a history, except it hasn't happened - yet.

The audio was fine. Either they fixed it or I am less picky than some others. Truly enjoyed this and will be buying the next installment when available.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!

LOVED IT!! This is an awesome, fun series! It's well worth the time and credit!

Really interesting story, well written, and narration was awesome!!
I think it's an adventure anyone would want to be on, I sure do!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.
Please take a moment to click the "YES" ("Helpful") button below if you found this review helpful :) Thank you!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good classic scifi.

Good clasic scifi. Reminiscent of some of Heinlein's early work. I think it could be trimmed down a bit and perhaps move a bit faster. Other than that the story is good and the narrator is solid.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Series

Great Cliff hanger to get you to buy #4. We will actually get to meet the aliens in that one.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ross
  • 10-16-18

Good story, iffy narrator

I enjoy the book, but the narration was poor, especially Australian accents. Once you get over this it’s a good listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Rodney A.
  • 06-02-18

Great story - worst narrator ever

Good story - ruined by a narrator that cannot create character differentiation in their voice. First book has several sections where you can hear him re-recording due to mistakes (seems Russian voices were difficult to do)

worth listening to but please do not ever get this person to read another book - unless its main character is Elma Fudd...

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Katy
  • 11-08-18

Very dry and one dimensional

its like reading an outline for a tv production script, which i think this book could be turned into a tv sci fi series. its needs actors to inject some emotion and script writers to write some tension and emotion into it.
the whole story is bland and lacking characterization and feeling. The dialogue between family members is unemotional and stilted.

the ideas are great but the dryness of the books and terrible narrator really pull it down. the narrator has a 'plummy' american accent and can't do any of the other accents properly or even differentiate between characters. top points to the author for choosing to bring Australia into his story, but again the narrators horrible accents and pronouncement of Brisbane made me cringe every time!