Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Mapmaker's Daughter  By  cover art

The Mapmaker's Daughter

By: Katherine Nouri Hughes
Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.49

Buy for $21.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

A novel of the Venetian girl who became the most powerful woman in the Ottoman Empire - perfect for fans of Netflix's Magnificent Century.

The Ottoman Empire was at the height of its power during the 16th century when Cecilia Baffo Veniero was kidnapped from her Venetian homeland and chosen to be the wife of Selim II, successor to Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. She would be known as Nurbanu.

The Mapmaker's Daughter vividly imagines the confession of Nurbanu as she lies on her sickbed narrating the spectacular story of her rise to the pinnacle of imperial power, determined to understand how her extraordinary destiny was shaped. With unflinching candor, Nurbanu reviews the desires and motives that have both propelled and harmed her, as she considers her role as a devoted yet manipulative mother, helping to orchestrate her son's succession to the throne. Serving as the appointed enforcer of one of the empire's most crucial and shocking laws, Nurbanu confronts the consequences of her loves and her choices - right up to one last shattering revelation.

©2017 Katherine Nouri Hughes (P)2020 Tantor

More from the same

What listeners say about The Mapmaker's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging

Eye opening look into the culture and opulence and rule of the Sultinate in the 16th century Ottoman Empire

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

Having travel in Europe, I hear of the Ottomans, but knew little of the history. This well researched novel opened a curtain to the life in the sultan’s palace.
I highly recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A fail for me

I did not like this book at all. How do you take such an interesting and strong women like hurrem sultan and turn her into a disgusting person with no depth. Just a caricature of an evil mother in law. I usually love historical fiction but not this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!