Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.99

Buy for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A novel of the Venetian girl who became the most powerful woman in the Ottoman Empire - perfect for fans of Netflix's Magnificent Century.

The Ottoman Empire was at the height of its power during the 16th century when Cecilia Baffo Veniero was kidnapped from her Venetian homeland and chosen to be the wife of Selim II, successor to Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. She would be known as Nurbanu.

The Mapmaker's Daughter vividly imagines the confession of Nurbanu as she lies on her sickbed narrating the spectacular story of her rise to the pinnacle of imperial power, determined to understand how her extraordinary destiny was shaped. With unflinching candor, Nurbanu reviews the desires and motives that have both propelled and harmed her, as she considers her role as a devoted yet manipulative mother, helping to orchestrate her son's succession to the throne. Serving as the appointed enforcer of one of the empire's most crucial and shocking laws, Nurbanu confronts the consequences of her loves and her choices - right up to one last shattering revelation.

©2017 Katherine Nouri Hughes (P)2020 Tantor

More from the same

What listeners say about The Mapmaker's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.