• The Map of Tiny Perfect Things

  • By: Lev Grossman
  • Narrated by: Michael Crouch
  • Length: 1 hr and 49 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (74 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $5.68

Buy for $5.68

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Lev Grossman comes a magical-realist romance that turns the Groundhog Day premise inside-out and upside-down - coming soon to Amazon as a major motion picture.

Mark is 17 years old and trapped in a time loop, and that’s just fine with him. It’s summertime and he’s spending this one infinitely repeating day reading his way through the town library. Then he discovers someone else in the loop with him: the brilliant, haunted Margaret. Together Mark and Margaret set out to find every wonderful, amazing, perfect thing that happens in that one day - a journey that will take them to the dark secret that waits at the very heart of their endless day. 

Thrilling, funny, and deeply romantic, this novella is perfect for fans of John Green, Nicola Yoon, and Jandy Nelson.

©2021 Lev Grossman (P)2021 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about The Map of Tiny Perfect Things

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Short Suprise

I thought the story was cute and not quite what I expected. I love a good time loop story but I hadn't heard a story quite like this one. To me this was a little sappy but I guess the whole point is to accept change and to enjoy the perfect moments. I also enjoyed the author's note at the end explaining the movie process. I will definitely be watching it to see what other changes were made.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Tiny Perfect Story

An interesting and wry account of a teenage boy’s thinking and activities in time warp. Humorous and touching. I normally go for long stories because I don’t want the characters to end. Lev Grossman achieved this same effect in a very short story that I’m glad I did not dismiss because of its shortness. What is lacks in length, it more than makes up for with the truths of life and time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Incredible and Breathtaking!

Absolutely loved it, one of the best short stories ever written. I saw the movie first, and it was so unique and unlike anything I've ever seen, that I bought the book right away afterwards. I love the audio book version too, and how the Author himself talks to you, and tells you all about how they made the movie, and what helped him come up with the idea for the book, in the first place. Sounds like the author needs to be given more credit. His ideas are absolutely amazing! I think we need a younger generation of movie producers... So much more epic things could've gone into all of this. I think all his artistic ideas that got shut down, were great... and it's the movie producers loss. Seriously! This author is fantastic, and I can't wait to see what he comes up with next! 😎🖤❤️🔥☀️🤟🏻

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

delightful and sadly sweet

When you think you've fiigured it out, things change . Twice. So, so, wonderful. 💕

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sweet

4.5*

As much as I want to jump right into watching the movie based on this story I'm going to save it for August 4th- it worked out in my favor that I just listened to this, instead of months ago, so that I can enjoy the movie on the date the story takes place, instead of waiting for months!

I really enjoyed this story. Even if the idea wasn't completely unique Lev Grossman made it his own, especially when it came down to the reason behind the loop. This was a sweet read, if a little melancholy. It's one I'd definitely read/listen to again. And part of that is because of the narrator, Michael Crouch. I'm probably starting to sound like a broken record when it comes to him and how much I enjoy listening to him! He's got the perfect voice for a teen/young adult. I get so invested in the characters thanks to his performances.