• The Man with No Borders

  • A Novel
  • By: Richard C. Morais
  • Narrated by: Thom Rivera
  • Length: 10 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (84 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Man with No Borders  By  cover art

The Man with No Borders

By: Richard C. Morais
Narrated by: Thom Rivera
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.99

Buy for $29.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A father comes to terms with his mortality and secrets in a heartrending novel of family and forgiveness from the New York Times bestselling author of The Hundred-Foot Journey.

It is a time of reckoning for José-Maria Alvarez, an aristocratic Spanish banker living in a Swiss village with his American wife. Nearing the end of a long and tumultuous life, he’s overcome by hallucinatory memories of the past. Among his most cherished memories are those of his boyhood in 1950s Franco-era Spain and the bucolic afternoons he spent salmon fishing on the Sella River with his father, uncle, and much-loved younger brother. But these fond reveries are soon eclipsed by something greater. José’s regrets and dark family secrets are flooding back, as is the devastating tragedy that drove José into exile and makes him bear the burden of a soul-deep guilt.

Now, as his three estranged sons return to their father’s side, José hopes to outpace death long enough to finally put his house in order and exorcise its demons. Only in his quest for redemption can José begin to understand the meaning of his life - and what his legacy has meant to others.

©2019 by Richard C. Morais/RCM Media LLC. (P)2019 Brilliance Audio, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Whether he’s untangling the strands of José’s dark inner world or offering a glimpse of a milieu where money serves as both lubricant and salve, Morais effectively reveals how heartbreakingly inadequate even vast resources can be in providing a bulwark against the assault of life’s most formidable challenges. A meticulous unearthing of the painful contradictions in a privileged life.” --Kirkus Reviews

“Immersing readers in José’s memories, The Man with No Borders is a fluid, lyrical look at a dramatic and often traumatic life. Fans of Anthony Doerr and Paulette Jiles will enjoy this sweeping novel’s sumptuous locales and heart-wrenching vignettes.” --Booklist 

What listeners say about The Man with No Borders

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Men having sex with men is a disorder, it is not something to be proud of

3% of American males are homosexuals. 1/3rd of homosexual sex when introduced to homosexuality when they were victims of childhood rape by adult homosexual man. The only thing this disgusting novel gets right is that men having sex with men, or boys, is nothing to be proud of.

If you want to read a woke novel, this may be the book for you.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not my fav

I liked parts but disliked parts.
I didn't finish it.Probably would not recommend it to my family

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No Borders

I struggled connecting to the main character. I desperately wanted to enjoy him but I found myself indifferent to his story. The writer had some lovely flashbacks to his childhood but again I did not have much of an emotional connection to the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent book

I spent more time listening then I had planned as the book was moving so fast and was so engaging.
Excellent and so vivid description of both the characters and their surroundings. You feel being part of the story and share the joys and the suffering.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring

I couldn’t finish it. My mind wandered and it put me to sleep. I prefer something to happen in the story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

very slow

started off slow and got even slower. almost just stopped listening. glad the book was free. best part was the epilogue. will take this author off my list........................................................................................................................................................................................ not sure why you can't submit a review without filing the entire space............................................................................. this is annoying