Your audiobook is waiting…

The Lyon Affair

The Indigo Rebels, Book 2
Narrated by: John B Leen
Length: 8 hrs and 17 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See, The Lyon Affair - audoibook two in the Indigo Rebels series.  

A late diplomat's son with a brilliant mind; a Catholic priest with a dark past; a young woman scorned by her fellow countrymen for her German heritage; a young man who has just escaped the clutches of the ruthless Gestapo. 

A tentative partnership created to fight against the common enemy, where the secrets of their pasts lead to disaster, and a betrayal of one may become a death sentence for all.  

An unlikely hero...a cunning villain...one Resistance cell. One traitor in their midst.  

When the Gestapo are closing in, and there’s nowhere else to run, one will make a decision that could change everything.   

A riveting French Resistance novel.

©2017 Ellie Midwood (P)2019 Ellie Midwood

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling WWII thriller

If you’re a fan of WWII thrillers and have an interest in the French Resistance and their actions, you’ll enjoy this audiobook. It’s obviously meticulously researched - I recognized a few familiar names including Jean Moulin and some of the events that took place in occupied France (the student march, for instance, was a real event, during which the fictional sub-prefect almost got arrested). I found the setting of war-torn France to be authentic and true to fact. My only criticism is that the narrator spoke a bit too fast at times, but it’s a minor thing that can easily be fixed in one’s settings. Apart from that, he did a wonderful job of bringing the characters to life. The final few scenes with the interrogation and the heroism of the main female character were particularly filled with tension.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great French Resistance novel!

Even though it's the second book in the series, you can easily listen to it as a stand-alone. I was happy to reconnect with the already familiar characters and thoroughly enjoyed the new ones, introduced by the author. The character development in book two was perhaps even better than in book one, especially when it comes to Giselle (my favorite character!). Sievers made a formidable antagonist and what I really loved was that he wasn't a typical, one-dimensional Nazi but more of an old police hound, who recognized and appreciated a courageous foe in the face of Giselle. I only wish there was more about Kamille and her husband, but I guess I'll have to wait for book 3 to find out how it all plays out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful