Your audiobook is waiting…

The Lost Night

A Novel
Narrated by: Kristen Sieh, Full Cast
Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
4 out of 5 stars (75 ratings)

Regular price: $28.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut.” (Jessica Knoll, New York Times best-selling author of Luckiest Girl Alive)

What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend, Lindsay, will learn how unprepared she is for the truth.

In 2009, Edie had New York’s social world in her thrall. Mercurial and beguiling, she was the shining star of a group of recent graduates living in a Brooklyn loft and treating New York like their playground. When Edie’s body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end. 

A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has devoted best friends, a cozy apartment, and a thriving career as a magazine’s head fact-checker. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered - and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009 - combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memories - Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light. 

"This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you're in the midst of your invincible 20s, or if you've ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?" (Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy

"If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she'd feel right at home in The Lost Night: a juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip." (Janelle Brown, best-selling author of Watch Me Disappear

©2019 Andrea Bartz (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.” (Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence)

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins." (Jo Piazza, best-selling coauthor of The Knockoff)

“Accomplished.... Fans of psychological thrillers will want to see more from this talented newcomer.” (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This book was only ok imho...

This book started out fast paced but it was like a balloon losing its air hard and fast. It then becomes just monotonous. I finally just really didn’t care who if anyone did it! Lindsey’s bff Edie kills her self or did she and did Lindsey have anything to do with it?! Edie is pretty much a mean girl jerk. And as a fictional character I could pretty much say I didn’t care whodunit midway through book. Lindsey is like a dog with a bone and won’t let it go and fashions herself a Sherlock. It became tedious and I actually kept falling asleep and having to register to chapters. The narrators did ok. It may have just been my age and finding it really hard to relate or even like the characters. I’m 43 but the book goes from characters age 23 then 33, 10 years later. It read to me like a YA novel and I can can get into those sometimes just not this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very slow

Wow, this was a chore to get through. The mystery driving the plot is so thin, and it just can't sustain any suspense. The writing is good, the narration is fine, I just wish the plot had more substance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

Loved it, very suspenseful great twists along the way . It kept me on the edge of my seat

1 of 2 people found this review helpful