The Lost Night

A Novel
Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
4 out of 5 stars (154 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut.” (Jessica Knoll, New York Times best-selling author of Luckiest Girl Alive)

What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend, Lindsay, will learn how unprepared she is for the truth.

Named one of the best books of the year by BuzzFeed • Glamour • Real Simple • Marie Claire • Library Journal • Booklist • CrimeReads

In 2009, Edie had New York’s social world in her thrall. Mercurial and beguiling, she was the shining star of a group of recent graduates living in a Brooklyn loft and treating New York like their playground. When Edie’s body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end.

A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has devoted best friends, a cozy apartment, and a thriving career as a magazine’s head fact-checker. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered - and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009 - combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memories - Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light. 

Praise for The Lost Night

“[An] impressive debut with a nerve-wracking finish.” (People

“A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.” (Jo Piazza, best-selling coauthor of The Knockoff)

“Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again...oh my, this is your book.” (Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence)

©2019 Andrea Bartz (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"This suspenseful, twisty thriller is the perfect book if you're in the midst of your invincible 20s, or if you've ever looked back on that ephemeral time in your life and thought, how in the world did I live to tell the tale?" (Camille Perri, author of The Assistants and When Katie Met Cassidy)

"A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory. Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins." (Jo Piazza, best-selling coauthor of The Knockoff)

“Accomplished.... Fans of psychological thrillers will want to see more from this talented newcomer.” (Publishers Weekly)

"If The Girl on the Train had been a Brooklyn party kid, she'd feel right at home in The Lost Night: a juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip." (Janelle Brown, best-selling author of Watch Me Disappear)  

What listeners say about The Lost Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very slow

Wow, this was a chore to get through. The mystery driving the plot is so thin, and it just can't sustain any suspense. The writing is good, the narration is fine, I just wish the plot had more substance.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This book was only ok imho...

This book started out fast paced but it was like a balloon losing its air hard and fast. It then becomes just monotonous. I finally just really didn’t care who if anyone did it! Lindsey’s bff Edie kills her self or did she and did Lindsey have anything to do with it?! Edie is pretty much a mean girl jerk. And as a fictional character I could pretty much say I didn’t care whodunit midway through book. Lindsey is like a dog with a bone and won’t let it go and fashions herself a Sherlock. It became tedious and I actually kept falling asleep and having to register to chapters. The narrators did ok. It may have just been my age and finding it really hard to relate or even like the characters. I’m 43 but the book goes from characters age 23 then 33, 10 years later. It read to me like a YA novel and I can can get into those sometimes just not this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I don’t usually write reviews

But there are two serious problems with this audiobook.

The first is the main narrator. I’m sure she did what she thought was the best thing for story. But the way she narrates, especially the males voices but even the females, is horrible. I don’t have another word for it. It’s the way uncool people who think they’re ironic and self-deprecating speak. And I straight up think she misjudged a lot of the dialogue. Without having the book in front of me it is tough to know for sure. But I’m confident in my belief that most people, if they were reading this and not listening to it, would not read it the way she did.

The second is the main character is intolerable. Maybe that feeds into the first major issue with this audiobook or maybe she’s a self involved 30-something New York transplant who makes Hannah Horvath seem empathetic and selfless. I dig audiobooks like these. I listen to a lot. But it’s hard to really appreciate the plot when you can’t find a redeeming trait in the main character. It wasn’t written poorly. I want to make sure that’s not how this is taken. But it’s hard to cheer for someone like Lindsay/Lindsey Bach (not sure on that last name).

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Most annoying voice ever

I’m enjoying reading this book but the audible is awful...about the most annoying voice ever

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

never wanted to stop listening!

There's nothing that makes me look forward to a morning run or my commute to work more than an audiobook I can't put down. I got sucked into this one right away and probably drove my family crazy because I had my headphones in my ears constantly while binge-listening towards the end of the book. Vivid and descriptive language, great narration, and well-developed, believable characters. I don't know if the author hacked my live journal diary from college or if my experience was just that universal among 20-somethings who are desperate for belonging and don't mix well with vodka, but I could painfully relate to the main character and felt like I was moving through the story with her. I'm excited to see what's next from this author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved. My favorite audiobook in a while!

I don’t know what it is about this book, but I was sucked in from the very beginning. I just love the characters, and how it reminds me of my own life into thousand nine. My life with my friends were there were so many crazy nights… The dynamics of my friendships… I feel like I can relive it all through Lindsay, which happens to be my name. LOL What a twist at the end. I seriously could not keep my headphones out of my ears. You should really not pass this one up. It had me on the edge of my seat but also nostalgic and thoughtful.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A little disappointed

Great idea for a book, but fell goal
Too much “ back story” info that was not needed

Ok read

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

worst book I've read in a long time.

This book was so annoying and ending was lack luster. The peak of the book was lack luster. Skip it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

Loved it, very suspenseful great twists along the way . It kept me on the edge of my seat

1 person found this helpful