Regular price: $27.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From internationally best-selling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg comes a new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.

Mats Sverin was Fjällbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he's found dead, detective Patrik Hedström must find answers.

It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? Does she know who Mats really was?

Nathalie has her own secret. Something has forced her and her five-year-old son to flee to their remote family home on the Ghost Isle, where she'll shield her son from the evils of the world.

But as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light.

©2016 Camilla Läckberg (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I like this author

This book doesn't seem to have the same glue (as in glued to it) as several oh her earlier mysteries. I was glad to pick up with the interesting characters who people these books. (Each book does stand alone.) It was worth the price.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I like the series

Not as bleak as the usual Swedish noir, but is dangerously close to slipping into the bane of most series...soap opera type melodrama. Her character development is good and I find myself enjoying the evolution of certain characters.

Overall a good series seven books in so far.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story

Loved it! I enjoyed the Fjallbacka Murder series and look forward to more audio books by Camilla Lackberg. I highly recommend!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Larry
  • Montara, CA, United States
  • 12-22-16

Very Good, but perhaps one too many mysteries

This entry in the series was very compelling. The clues in the main mystery were laid out in subtle fashion and timed so that the reader and Patrick solve it about the same time. However there are 3 other mysteries within the book and that is at least one mystery too many. In fact the author seems to have forgotten about one of them and just leaves the reader hanging. This may very well be the plot basis for the next book, but it was unsatisfying not to have a conclusion in this book. There is also a flashback mystery which only kind of works because it is set in the 1870s. The naivete of the young wife living on an island with two men who despise her is believable only because of the era. The latter subplot also figures into the supernatural element of the story and this actually does have an intriguing continuity within the larger plot. All in all well worth listening to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good one in the series

It wasn't the best one in the series, but it was still intriguing. One of the aspects of this author's writing that I love is how she weaves human emotions and events in with the suspense

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good listen. A little confusing.

Unless you take notes, it's difficult to keep up with the characters. However, as usual for Lackberg, the story lines are interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Katie
  • United States
  • 07-20-17

Too many characters

Narration is great but there are too many characters in the book, it's also a bit of a slog. Not Camilla's best work

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Why have children?

Having finished this book, I can't help wondering why anyone in Scandinavian countries have children. Parents seem terminally tired and barely able to care for the babies.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite by Lackberg

Worth reading if you're following the series to find out what's next for all of the regular characters. The writing keeps you interested until the very end, but this time the story was too predictable. The theme of violence against women is getting a bit tiresome in the series.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Could not finish

Plodding with endless info that did nothing to move the plot forward nor to build the characters. I started thinking root canal would be better.

In all the years I have been a member of Audible, I have never returned a book.