The Light Between Worlds

Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
4 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians.

Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister’s despair and the painful truths from which they’ve been running. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing and what it means to find where you belong. 

©2018 Laure E. Weymouth (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

you're kidding, right?

this book is basically just taken weird for word from Narnia. don't buy it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 12-02-18

Loved it

I loved everything about this book. It's absolutely beautiful, and it will stay with me for a while.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this

At first I was skeptical-- isn't this the same story as the lion the witch and the wardrobe? But this ended up being so much more to me. This story has everything, magic, art, history, deep insight into the characters, and a delightfully unfolding narrative. I liked how dialog was used. I liked how the flashbacks were used. Above all, I learned something about myself from reading this book.