The Lido

Narrated by: Clare Corbett
Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (128 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her 86-year-old subject - and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a 26-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an 86-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history - with the help of a charming photographer - she pieces together a portrait of the pool and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations - an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

©2018 Libby Page (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio

Editorial Review

Feel like a local

London holds a special place in my heart, and The Lido puts the neighborhood of Brixton front and center—from shopping for produce at Brixton Market, seeing a quick flick at the Ritzy Cinema, or swimming at the Brockwell Lido, for which this book is named. As I listened, I was flooded with memories of my own experience in London. But at its core, Libby Page’s debut highlights the fabric of any city neighborhood: the locations that a tourist probably wouldn’t visit, the little things a local may come to overlook, and most important, the people who live there. From an unconventional friendship to a surprise romance, this was a heart-warming listen that made tears well in my eyes up through the final second. —Michael C., Audible Editor

What listeners say about The Lido

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Good Grief

I can't force myself to finish listening to this sad, repetitive and endlessly tedious book. The characters are thinly developed and the story just seems to keep covering the same ground and making the same point--over and over again. I usually love books that involve storylines centered on character wholeness and healing through community. However, in the end I think the writing lacked the sparks (or maybe sparkle) needed to help the reader make a true connection to the characters as people. I also had trouble with the narration. A Lido is an outdoor swimming area--whether it be a beach, a swimming pool or the deck on a cruise boat with pools. The word comes from the Italian and MOST all of the world pronounces it in the Italian manner......LEE-Doh....NOT the way Corbett chose to pronounce this key word. It absolutely was like fingernails on a blackboard. Golly. What an irritating bore this turned out to be.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the characters and story

I tend to favor the crime/detective genre, mainly the Nordic authors. But after a while I was eager to find this kind of story, not sure where to put it as genre, easy to follow with well developed characters, excellent narration and a nice ending. IMO anybody who is a fan of Fredrick Backman, Maeve Binchy and Phaedra Patrick will like this book .

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Wrap it Up, Already!

Sweet story, but could have ended 2 hours earlier! it just dragged out in the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply Delightful

A true treasure for someone who happened upon a book that spoke to this reader in so many ways. A lifelong swimmer, enjoying a special relationship with an loved elder and a part of a community fighting gentrification I have been just delighted by this book. The character developments were so rich. The narration perfect. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

give it a listen

I laughed and cried and fell in love with every character and it made me nostalgic for swimming in a public pool. Unique and timely characters that resonate for both young and old of heart.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED IT!

I’ve had this book on my list for a while. I don’t know why it took me so long to get to it but I’m so glad I decided to move it to the top of my list. I loved Rosemary! She is 86 and a widow who swims at the Lido every day and has been going there since it opened when she was a child. I loved learning about her life and her love for her husband George and their life together, and her love for the Lido. Kate was a great character also. She is 26-year-old, works for a newspaper and suffers from anxiety, but with the help of Rosemary, the Lido, and a man she starts having a relationship with (can’t remember his name), she finally starts living a “normal” life. Together these two women, with the help of the community, set out to stop the Lido from being demolished and turned into an apartment complex. This is a fantastic book that will be going on my “favorite” list for this year. The characters were full of love for their community, each other, and doing whatever it took to save the Lido. It was an awesome story that will stay with me for a very long time and I have a feeling I’ll be listening, or reading, it again. This is the first book by Libby Page . I will be keeping an eye out for her next book, The 24-Hour Café

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Relaxed, enjoyable story

Lots of interesting insights here combined with a good story. Unlike one of the previous negative reviews, the narrator absolutely does pronounce the word Lido correctly. Yes, it is pronounced differently in other countries, but in Britain, it is pronounced the way the narrator reads it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Low-key

I liked this very Bristish, low-key story. The characters are distinctive without being cloying or bizarre, and there are several nice "messages" in the narrative that are done subtlety, without being preachy. The ending was just right ( so many books end on an off note, this one gets it right). The narration was excellent, too. It's a good book, probably not one for a "best of the year" list, but worth the time to listen, especially as a break from dark, dysfunctional narratives ( of which there seem to be an awful lot)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LJ
  • 09-14-18

Great story of hope and strength and staying the course

A heartfelt story or two souls, one old and one young, who help each other find peace and joy. The narrator was spot on and furthered my enjoyment of this lovely book. And yes, I will be recommending it to my book club.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

sweet story

This book is all about the characters ... not an action book, no wild plot twists. Just regular people, young and old. It was a charming story, with a smart ending. Recommended!

1 person found this helpful