Regular price: $18.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her 86-year-old subject - and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a 26-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an 86-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history - with the help of a charming photographer - she pieces together a portrait of the pool and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations - an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

©2018 Libby Page (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Good Grief

I can't force myself to finish listening to this sad, repetitive and endlessly tedious book. The characters are thinly developed and the story just seems to keep covering the same ground and making the same point--over and over again. I usually love books that involve storylines centered on character wholeness and healing through community. However, in the end I think the writing lacked the sparks (or maybe sparkle) needed to help the reader make a true connection to the characters as people.

I also had trouble with the narration. A Lido is an outdoor swimming area--whether it be a beach, a swimming pool or the deck on a cruise boat with pools. The word comes from the Italian and MOST all of the world pronounces it in the Italian manner......LEE-Doh....NOT the way Corbett chose to pronounce this key word. It absolutely was like fingernails on a blackboard. Golly. What an irritating bore this turned out to be.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the characters and story

I tend to favor the crime/detective genre, mainly the Nordic authors. But after a while I was eager to find this kind of story, not sure where to put it as genre, easy to follow with well developed characters, excellent narration and a nice ending.
IMO anybody who is a fan of Fredrick Backman, Maeve Binchy and Phaedra Patrick will like this book .

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Low-key

I liked this very Bristish, low-key story. The characters are distinctive without being cloying or bizarre, and there are several nice "messages" in the narrative that are done subtlety, without being preachy. The ending was just right ( so many books end on an off note, this one gets it right). The narration was excellent, too. It's a good book, probably not one for a "best of the year" list, but worth the time to listen, especially as a break from dark, dysfunctional narratives ( of which there seem to be an awful lot)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story of hope and strength and staying the course

A heartfelt story or two souls, one old and one young, who help each other find peace and joy. The narrator was spot on and furthered my enjoyment of this lovely book. And yes, I will be recommending it to my book club.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

sweet story

This book is all about the characters ... not an action book, no wild plot twists. Just regular people, young and old. It was a charming story, with a smart ending. Recommended!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MM
  • 08-06-18

Friendship and Love

LOVED it. The Lido falls into the “up”lit category - a multigenerational group of Brixtonians come together to save their local lido. Along the way they form unexpected friendships, learn the truth about how strong they are, and fit their unique personalities into a healthy community.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not my usual

Every once in a while, I like to read/listen to a book that is not from my usual genres. Primarily a reader of espionage stories, listening to this was a departure for me. I am so glad I took the leap and listened to this book-what a beautiful story of kindness, friendship, and love.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anita
  • PORTLAND, OR, United States
  • 08-20-18

This one will make you feel good!

This is a book for all the fans of Frederik Backman. Libby Page had done a terrific job of telling a really nice story about the residents of a very lovely English village. A cast of characters that you get to know in flashbacks to learn their back stories.
In the words of a friend who recommended it to me, "I want to live there!" And, I'm with her - I'd love to live in a place like this.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story

I loved this story! I loved the narration and the characters. I highly recommend this book for a fun and uplifting read.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful