Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Jane Austen Society  By  cover art

The Jane Austen Society

By: Natalie Jenner
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.99

Buy for $14.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

"Richard Armitage is an excellent choice of narrator for this celebration of the famed British author's work. His deep, resonant voice meanders through the stories of seven different people in the small English town of Chawton...a great casual listen, especially for those familiar with Austen's work." (AudioFile magazine)

This program includes a bonus conversation between the author and Kathleen A. Flynn, author of The Jane Austen Project.

Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now, it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people - a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others - could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.

A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with listeners for years to come.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society.... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." (Pam Jenoff, New York Times best-selling author of The Lost Girls of Paris)

"Anyone seeking an antidote to contemporary chaos will find a welcome respite among the members of a group whose outer lives may appear simple, but whose inner lives need the kind of balm Austen knew well." (Washington Post)

"Just like a story written by Austen herself, Jenner's first novel is brimming with charming moments, endearing characters, and nuanced relationships, all largely set within and reflecting the often intrusive atmosphere of a small country community.... The pleasures are many in this clever tribute to the beloved and endlessly influential Austen and the English village tale." (Booklist starred review)

©2020 Natalie Jenner (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

Editor's Pick

A society I would love to join
A quaint British town in the 1940s, Jane Austen’s legacy, and a narration by Richard Armitage… I mean, how could this not be great? Natalie Jenner’s debut novel tells the story of an unlikely group of people who come together to preserve the legacy of their favorite author, all the while helping each other through the hardships of post-war life. While I must admit I have not yet had the chance to listen to Armitage narrate this particular historical fiction, based on his incredible repertoire of 5-star narrations, I have no doubt that it will anything but sensational. I don’t know about you, but for whatever reason historical fictions that remind me of the power of kindness and our shared humanity have recently emerged as my personal cure for quarantine-induced cabin fever, and I can’t wait to escape into this one.

What listeners say about The Jane Austen Society

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    864
  • 4 Stars
    390
  • 3 Stars
    140
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    955
  • 4 Stars
    201
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    701
  • 4 Stars
    335
  • 3 Stars
    127
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    20

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars